Ukrainian Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Made them today.. tip for the cabbage... Cut around core and put 1 cup of water in a deep microwavable bowl.. put cabbage in core down, put plastic wrap on top and cook on high for "three" 10 min times... Let cool and use!!! I also put a tin of tomato soup on the top... I added bacon and garlic also...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Pollard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
made this my thoughts were looks easy and was. i actually added a few things just to try out sauted the onions with celery and a clove of garlic didn't add salt yet mixed in ground pork and half cooked rice. added soyasauce some salt and pepper... i boiled the cabbage and topped it with pasta sauce mixed with water just because i didn't gave a tomato soup. i have a a 13 month old and she ate it all up. would definitely make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandera Shanell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Thank you for the recipe! I truly loved this dish and it was pretty easy to make. I had never steamed a whole head of cabbage and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is not an easy recipe to follow for a beginner cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
My parents came from Ukraine and my mother always made her cabbage rolls with meat. Now when I make them, which come out even better than my mother's, I use 3 types of meat: pork, beef and veal and I use Italian rice. I then cover the cabbage rolls with V8 juice. They come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
this recipe was amazing! instead of tomato juice we used a half and half mixture of tomato and basil pasta sauce and tomato paste watered down just enough to be poured on top. we also cooked the onions a little longer so that they started to caramelize (they were a little gooey in the finished product though) we also cooked the rice with a bit of black pepper. instead of cooking for two hours we cooked for about 45 minutes vented and turned off the oven and let it sit in there for about an hour when we needed to go to the store. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTAAA!!!~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very similar to how my Ukranian Baba made them. I did make a few changes, such as chop up bacon and fry the onions in bacon grease instead of butter. I used tomato soup, slightly diluted. Cover the holopchi with cabbage leaves and roast at least 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have made this for yrs. This is a good basic recipe for those getting started. I add ground beef or ground sausage , cooked with diced onion. I have also used Zatarins Dirty Rice(prepared as directions say). It is very good. I have also found that V-8 juice poured over the top is a wonderful alternative to regular tomatoe juice. This is an excellent recipe to let your imagination run wild with. I've even filled them with jambalaya and it was awesome. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoKi9
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My wife and I each took part in making this dish and we LOVED IT!!!! When it was all done we put a light layer of cheeze over it and each ate two! :D The left overs we had the next day and they tasted that much better because AWESOME flavor soaked through the whole dish!!! When I make it again, I will add a bit more tomato into the rice, but all in all it is a great dish! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoKi9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States