Ukrainian Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I am Ukrainian and cook borsch for my family regularly. I'd suggest to use canned whole beats, saves time and tastes the same. I also do a little trick my mom told me, at the end mash together tiny bit of finely chopped bacon with mashed garlic into a paste and throw it in, it adds an unbelievable flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very good and easy to adapt to what I had in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this soup! I messed up the directions in the beginning and chopped my beets into small chunks instead of shredding - but now I like how it gives the soup some substance, while still toning (way down) the beets.... and - what a GORGEOUS color it becomes :-) YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gord Sharpe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
My wife and I enjoyed this recipe. It does make a lot! I don't know that I would specifically set out to make it again, unless we were entertaining, or happened to have fresh beets on hand (I had some from the garden, which was my excuse...) However, IF I were to make it again, I would make the following changes: 1) 1/2 the Dill...maybe even 1/4 it. 2) Choose to use either potatoes ONLY or powdered spuds ONLY...I think the reason someone used the powdered variety was through a last minute attempt to thicken it up...I'd likely go with 4-5 potatoes at the default setting for this recipe. 3) I'd add 2 pounds of beef stew meet or possibly sausage, and use beef broth as the base. Finally, I found it somewhat confusing how to prepare the beets. Thus, I roasted them in the oven after wrapping them with foil, for about 35 minutes @ 450 deg F. Then I let them cool a bit, peeled them (the skin just sloughs off using this method) then shredded them in the food processor, and THEN added them to the pot, added the water and brought to a boil. Finally, I used the method described (what I'll call the multiple pot method). I found it to be unnecessarily laborious, and wouldn't do that again. Overall 3 stars if you follow this recipe...I'm betting a solid 4, and maybe a 5 with my method / some additional tweaking. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Love your soup I am no5 polish or ukrainian but it sure is gooo0oooood thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Campbellford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was very nice. I cut down on the salty flavour by simply adding chicken instead of a powder. It makes a nice, light soup, but filling - and very low in both fat and calories, while high in lean protein (with the chicken pieces substituted) and fibre, which is hard to come by in a recipe without heavily tweaking ingredients (and most times ruining the entire meal in doing so). I quite prefer this with chicken than sausage or beef, as most recipes ask for. Had it tonight with pyrogies and kielbasa... Even my incredibly picky sister gave it an "Mm!" when she tried a spoonful. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Great recipe. I served it to those who even claimed to hate borscht (before trying it)! Delicious. It's not quite authentic, though, as soy sauce, celery, and potato flakes are pretty rare in Ukraine. I did see a lot of borscht with shredded cabbage. Just a thought. Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
wonderful soup rich color and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States