Ukrainian Apple Cake (Yabluchnyk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This cake was absolutely delicious!!! It tasted like an apple pie on top of a perfectly moist coffee cake. Best of both worlds. :) I followed the directions exactly, other than I cooked 35 minutes to insure the apples were cooked completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Perfect amount of sweetness.I cut the recipe in half and I used flax seed and wheat flour instead of white flour and it turned out great! I am tempted to eat the whole thing on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acole

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this cake for my Library Book Club last week.We had just finished reading Anna Karenina and I were meeting to discuss the book. I had offered to bring a Russian food. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit at the meeting. I made a double batch and my husband was able to eat some of the left over and liked it as well. I plan to make more for him to share at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious! Even though I forgot the cinnamon (duh). I made this for a monthly supper club (Russian theme) & it was a hit. I'm assuming it would be 6 stars if I remembered the cinnamon! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anthea
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This cake is absolutely wonderful! It has been a favorite of mine. I could eat it all day cause it isn't too sweet. I only added a hint more cinnamon to the topping. Definitely going to make this again! I really like the struesel topping so I'll probably add more of it next time. So if youre looking for something not too sweet to indulge yourself in, try this cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
It tastes amazing. A party favorite, especially in the fall it goes with the just of things. I highly recommend this to anyone for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was a very good, very rich recipe. I am really amazed at how little work it takes to actually make this. I made it with Red Delicious apples but I think the next time I make it, I'll use granny smith. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
The crust was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe sounded good, and it looked good... but it wasn't what I had expected. It's not a sweet dessert. The only thing that made any sweetness to it were the apples and the topping. The cake part of it was a bit dry and blan for my taste. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I loved this! I made it to celebrate my brother's recent return from Russia and Ukraine (he claimed to have hated all the food, so it was kind of a practical joke to serve him ONE more Ukrainian dish). He actually loved it, as did everyone else at the party. I used fresh pears instead of the apples, and I didn't really measure them (I think it was probably about 3-4 cups). It was really yummy, though I'm thinking that the pears (or, rather, the amount of fruit) made the cooking time a bit longer. I also used a nine-inch springform instead of the 8x8 dish (I really don't think that would have served as nicely). I think next time I make this (and I WILL!), I will bake the bottom layer just a few minutes before adding the fruit so that it's a tad easier to slice into wedges. I served it with really good vanilla bean ice cream, which helped to even out the spiciness of the cinnamon. If you're not a big cinnamon fan, you might want to reduce it a bit. The flavor on the whole reminded me a bit of when my mother made cinnamon toast for me as a child. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeeGee's Mommy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States