Ukrainian Apple Cake (Yabluchnyk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This is a very tasty cake. My husband loved it. Unfortunately I did not have cream on hand and was hesitant to substitute, but I was determined to make this. So I used cream cheese in place of the cream and it turned out well. My husband never goes past it without taking a piece. Will do the original recipe nest week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Spranza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Once again, esp to the person, who used water for eggs, coconut oil for the butter and more water to some strange flour concoction and then had the nerve to give the recipe 1 star.... If you don't use the recipe and the ingredients then don't rate the recipe, because you didn't use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I thought the base was a bit dry and the topping lacked flavor. I served it to my Ukrainian and Russian friends and they ate it, but it wasn't a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great recipe, very moist cake. Because of allergies, I substituted water for the eggs, coconut oil for the butter, and coconut milk for the cream. I also left out the cinnamon. I added extra water as using organic milled wheat and let it sit for a few minutes before baking for the baking powder to start acting.Like pancakes, it helps make it fluffier. If using a hard fruit like apples, it works out better to stew them for a few minutes until soft before adding to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I had bought 9lbs of apples to make some pies, but my children and husband enjoyed them so much, I didn't have enough! Thank you allrecipes for giving me a yummy recipe to use up the "left over" apples! This is a keeper~I will try other fruits as they come into season. But next time, I will add a little more sugar to the cake bottom. My littlest one scraped off the apples and left the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This recipe was..interesting. Not bad, but not great either. I wouldn't make it again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momuv4
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
You have to understand that Europe does not make their desserts as sweet as the US. This was excellent. I tripled the recipe and placed it in a jellyroll pan to feed the masses. I did not deviate at all from the recipe. It was beautiful and delicious! The bottom was cake-like, but hinted taste like a butter cookie. The streusel appeared more like a glaze (which actually was beautiful and gooey-licious). I decided to bake it at 350 until the apples were done, which ended up being about 70 minutes in my oven. Hope this helps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
It's delicious. I made one change, which was to use 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup, because looking at all the pictures make me think the struesel was a bit loose, and I wanted crispy. I think it was best warm out of the oven, still pretty good later that day at room temperature, and edible but not nearly as good the next day--the cake went stale pretty fast, and the struesel got soggy. Eat it quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
truly delicious, like my mama used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Apples never got super soft, but didn't want to keep baking, otherwise, cake would have been overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States