Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
My mother made this when I was a pre-teen. I believe she saw the recipe in a Woman's Day Magazine. It was a hit then...and still is now. Super moist and will satisfy the sweetest tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was a fabulous and delicious cake. I followed the recipe to the T. Super sweet and very easy. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made without nuts and no sugar added fruit cocktail. Added a little white chocolate to the frosting/glaze & made it a bit thicker using corn starch. BOOM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a foolproof recipe that doubles or triples well. It always elicits requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
It is really quite good and I love the fruitiness of it, I used frozen fruits and would try to use more fresh fruits in season. I'll make it again and cut back on the sugar, it's a bit too sweet for my taste. Consider that there is sugar in the cake mix, canned fruit and coconut, adding another full cup of sugar is a bit over the top. Also I put the cake under the broiler for a minute or two after drizzling the the topping on it, and it toasted the coconut and made it very attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed this tasty way to use a can of fruit cocktail (which is how I found this recipe.. I looked up things that utilized fruit cocktail) and I would make it again in a heartbeat! As a coconut lover, I thought the crunchy frosting/brown sugar combo was sooo delicious against the soft cake. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been making this cake for years! It's alwaya big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Haven't made this in a long time - I need to make it again sometime!! I know its the same recipe - glad to come upon it again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delish! If you are having a sweet tooth, this will squelch it pretty dang fast. Super easy and super fast to make! I will make this one again! I think next time I may cut down on the frosting a bit. I had some left over, even with the cake covered and I didn't want to overdo it with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States