Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Someone mentioned this originally was in Woman's Day, which is correct. It was one of many dessert recipes listed in a 4-page insert advertisement by Baker's coconut/chocolate. The recipe ingredients are exact with two exceptions. The original recipe called, "Ugly Duckling Cake", had 2 1/2 cups coconut instead of 1 1/2 cups. Also, there were no nuts in the original recipe. I still have the insert. Will attach a pic of the front cover, just for fun. Must have been in late '70s or early '80s. That's a guess, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
My mother made this when I was a pre-teen. I believe she saw the recipe in a Woman's Day Magazine. It was a hit then...and still is now. Super moist and will satisfy the sweetest tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was a fabulous and delicious cake. I followed the recipe to the T. Super sweet and very easy. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made without nuts and no sugar added fruit cocktail. Added a little white chocolate to the frosting/glaze & made it a bit thicker using corn starch. BOOM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a foolproof recipe that doubles or triples well. It always elicits requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
It is really quite good and I love the fruitiness of it, I used frozen fruits and would try to use more fresh fruits in season. I'll make it again and cut back on the sugar, it's a bit too sweet for my taste. Consider that there is sugar in the cake mix, canned fruit and coconut, adding another full cup of sugar is a bit over the top. Also I put the cake under the broiler for a minute or two after drizzling the the topping on it, and it toasted the coconut and made it very attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed this tasty way to use a can of fruit cocktail (which is how I found this recipe.. I looked up things that utilized fruit cocktail) and I would make it again in a heartbeat! As a coconut lover, I thought the crunchy frosting/brown sugar combo was sooo delicious against the soft cake. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been making this cake for years! It's alwaya big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Haven't made this in a long time - I need to make it again sometime!! I know its the same recipe - glad to come upon it again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States