Ugly Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good and very simple! Everyone loved it. It looked like a little too much mayo as I was doing it so I cut back to about 2/3 cups. Also mix the cream cheese and the mayo before everything else, really helps you to eliminate the lumps of cream cheese throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Even though the cream cheese was soft, there were still globs - better to mix the cream cheese with the mayo first and then add the tomatoes and corn. I reduced the mayo to 2/3 cup. I also added sliced black olives. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made today for a party that I thought was my b-day party, it was. Used 8oz cream cheese, 1/2-3/4c miracle whip. Put in microwave for about 15 seconds and mashed with a fork to remove lumps and clumps. Added 10oz can RoTel, 11ozs green giant mexicorn and 2 green peppers sliced. Topped with 1/4c. shredded cheddar cheese. It's really not too ugly but it sure is great! Will definately make again and again!!! Served with Fritos Scoops and all I brought home was the emply bowl. My brother didn't even know it had corn in it (haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made for my poker gals last month and was told if I didn't bring it this month I could not play. LOL! I used Rotel and sprinkled a little shredded cheese and green onion ontop to make it less "ugly". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This dip is a keeper! I made it according to the recipe...and it was wonderful. Then, I added a few extra ingredients - sliced black olives and diced jalapenos. I served it with corn chips (a.k.a. Fritos Scoops). Easy to make and great to serve at a party. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The recipe wasn't as ugly as I thought it really to be...but however....it wasn't the best thing I ever tasted either. Matter of fact, it's not the worst, but I wasn't really pleased at all with this recipe after I threw the simple ingredients and followed the steps. All I could taste was soupy mayo with chunks. No kick of spice from the can diced tomatoes w/green chile peppers(Rotel), I couldn't even taste not one bit of cream cheese flavor. I'm sorry to say, that as written. It was not impressive or flavorful, it was bland as bland could get. However, if I had to make again...I'd cut the mayo in half and not drain the diced tomatoes. But I even took a suggestion from another friend to try and spice it up by adding chili powder and some taco seasonings to it. I sorry for giving this highly rate recipe a very poor rating. It just didn't have umph or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This tasted pretty good but the name says it all, it is pretty darn ugly! Since it really doesn't look very appetizing not a lot of people tried it at my party so I had a ton left over. With all of the wonderful dips out there I would skip this one and make a dip that tastes AND looks delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this for my sons birthday party and the guests ate every last bit! If you warm up the cream cheese in the microwave for a bit, it mixed up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This dip is amazing. It is definitely ugly and a little messy. It has become a "must have" at all family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Yep, it's ugly but oh so yummy ! I almost didn't make it because I thought the combination was kinda strange. It was a big hit at work so give it a try - you won't be disappointed !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States