Ugly Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This might not sound appealing, but with a corn chip, it's simply AWESOME! My sister in law made it and we couldn't stop eating it. I'm making for a summer party this weekend, we'll see what everyone says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I used light mayo & reduced fat cream cheese and it was fantastic! My husband who distrusts anything that is presented as a "lightened" version raved about it! It's true what Emma said: People can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Even though the cream cheese was soft, there were still globs - better to mix the cream cheese with the mayo first and then add the tomatoes and corn. I reduced the mayo to 2/3 cup. I also added sliced black olives. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This dip is a keeper! I made it according to the recipe...and it was wonderful. Then, I added a few extra ingredients - sliced black olives and diced jalapenos. I served it with corn chips (a.k.a. Fritos Scoops). Easy to make and great to serve at a party. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This tasted pretty good but the name says it all, it is pretty darn ugly! Since it really doesn't look very appetizing not a lot of people tried it at my party so I had a ton left over. With all of the wonderful dips out there I would skip this one and make a dip that tastes AND looks delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I didn't think it was UGLY at all! (Actually relieved that it wasn't!) And very tasty. I took it to a gathering and everyone snarfed it down. This is a good time to use the PRETTY and FANCY dishes to set the bland looking dip apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this dip for a party last summer and had several requests for the recipe, even though I didn't mix the cream cheese and mayo very well (it really did look ugly). Tip: when you serve a cream cheese dish with chunks of cream cheese left in it, just call them "flavor bits" and make it special! ;-) Great flavored dip; looks great when you blend the cheese and mayo first, and super easy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I took this along with 3 other dips to a party this weekend. Everyone loved it. I creamed the cream chesses and mayo before adding the other ingredients and it wasn't ugly. I did have to prompt people to try it but they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Not bad. Just make sure to soften the cream cheese before adding or it will be clumpy and won't mix in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made today for a party that I thought was my b-day party, it was. Used 8oz cream cheese, 1/2-3/4c miracle whip. Put in microwave for about 15 seconds and mashed with a fork to remove lumps and clumps. Added 10oz can RoTel, 11ozs green giant mexicorn and 2 green peppers sliced. Topped with 1/4c. shredded cheddar cheese. It's really not too ugly but it sure is great! Will definately make again and again!!! Served with Fritos Scoops and all I brought home was the emply bowl. My brother didn't even know it had corn in it (haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States