Ugly Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This might not sound appealing, but with a corn chip, it's simply AWESOME! My sister in law made it and we couldn't stop eating it. I'm making for a summer party this weekend, we'll see what everyone says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I used light mayo & reduced fat cream cheese and it was fantastic! My husband who distrusts anything that is presented as a "lightened" version raved about it! It's true what Emma said: People can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Even though the cream cheese was soft, there were still globs - better to mix the cream cheese with the mayo first and then add the tomatoes and corn. I reduced the mayo to 2/3 cup. I also added sliced black olives. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This dip is a keeper! I made it according to the recipe...and it was wonderful. Then, I added a few extra ingredients - sliced black olives and diced jalapenos. I served it with corn chips (a.k.a. Fritos Scoops). Easy to make and great to serve at a party. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This tasted pretty good but the name says it all, it is pretty darn ugly! Since it really doesn't look very appetizing not a lot of people tried it at my party so I had a ton left over. With all of the wonderful dips out there I would skip this one and make a dip that tastes AND looks delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I didn't think it was UGLY at all! (Actually relieved that it wasn't!) And very tasty. I took it to a gathering and everyone snarfed it down. This is a good time to use the PRETTY and FANCY dishes to set the bland looking dip apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this dip for a party last summer and had several requests for the recipe, even though I didn't mix the cream cheese and mayo very well (it really did look ugly). Tip: when you serve a cream cheese dish with chunks of cream cheese left in it, just call them "flavor bits" and make it special! ;-) Great flavored dip; looks great when you blend the cheese and mayo first, and super easy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I took this along with 3 other dips to a party this weekend. Everyone loved it. I creamed the cream chesses and mayo before adding the other ingredients and it wasn't ugly. I did have to prompt people to try it but they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Not bad. Just make sure to soften the cream cheese before adding or it will be clumpy and won't mix in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made today for a party that I thought was my b-day party, it was. Used 8oz cream cheese, 1/2-3/4c miracle whip. Put in microwave for about 15 seconds and mashed with a fork to remove lumps and clumps. Added 10oz can RoTel, 11ozs green giant mexicorn and 2 green peppers sliced. Topped with 1/4c. shredded cheddar cheese. It's really not too ugly but it sure is great! Will definately make again and again!!! Served with Fritos Scoops and all I brought home was the emply bowl. My brother didn't even know it had corn in it (haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States