Ugly Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
love this dip. better if you let set in fridge over night. I also added a little sour cream and some mexican shredded cheese. A few black beans would be good. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This dip is amazing. It is definitely ugly and a little messy. It has become a "must have" at all family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The recipe wasn't as ugly as I thought it really to be...but however....it wasn't the best thing I ever tasted either. Matter of fact, it's not the worst, but I wasn't really pleased at all with this recipe after I threw the simple ingredients and followed the steps. All I could taste was soupy mayo with chunks. No kick of spice from the can diced tomatoes w/green chile peppers(Rotel), I couldn't even taste not one bit of cream cheese flavor. I'm sorry to say, that as written. It was not impressive or flavorful, it was bland as bland could get. However, if I had to make again...I'd cut the mayo in half and not drain the diced tomatoes. But I even took a suggestion from another friend to try and spice it up by adding chili powder and some taco seasonings to it. I sorry for giving this highly rate recipe a very poor rating. It just didn't have umph or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made for my poker gals last month and was told if I didn't bring it this month I could not play. LOL! I used Rotel and sprinkled a little shredded cheese and green onion ontop to make it less "ugly". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Yep, it's ugly but oh so yummy ! I almost didn't make it because I thought the combination was kinda strange. It was a big hit at work so give it a try - you won't be disappointed !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good and very simple! Everyone loved it. It looked like a little too much mayo as I was doing it so I cut back to about 2/3 cups. Also mix the cream cheese and the mayo before everything else, really helps you to eliminate the lumps of cream cheese throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made today for a party that I thought was my b-day party, it was. Used 8oz cream cheese, 1/2-3/4c miracle whip. Put in microwave for about 15 seconds and mashed with a fork to remove lumps and clumps. Added 10oz can RoTel, 11ozs green giant mexicorn and 2 green peppers sliced. Topped with 1/4c. shredded cheddar cheese. It's really not too ugly but it sure is great! Will definately make again and again!!! Served with Fritos Scoops and all I brought home was the emply bowl. My brother didn't even know it had corn in it (haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Not bad. Just make sure to soften the cream cheese before adding or it will be clumpy and won't mix in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I took this along with 3 other dips to a party this weekend. Everyone loved it. I creamed the cream chesses and mayo before adding the other ingredients and it wasn't ugly. I did have to prompt people to try it but they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this dip for a party last summer and had several requests for the recipe, even though I didn't mix the cream cheese and mayo very well (it really did look ugly). Tip: when you serve a cream cheese dish with chunks of cream cheese left in it, just call them "flavor bits" and make it special! ;-) Great flavored dip; looks great when you blend the cheese and mayo first, and super easy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States