Uglies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These were just okay. I might make again simply because they are quick and easy, but I don't get requests for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made it exactly as written. It tasted alright. If you don't mind cafeteria food, then this is good to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrouchingBruin
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is one of the few recipes that everyone in the family likes, and easy to make, to boot. I couldn't find any 10 oz. packages of biscuit dough; all the store had were the 16 oz. jumbo biscuits, which took up a lot more room in the muffin tin. I ended up with quite a bit of leftover meat because of that. I think next time, if I have to use the jumbo biscuits again, I'll try splitting each biscuit in half so I have a thinner layer of dough. One and a half cups of BBQ sauce was probably a bit much; it left the meat too liquidy. The Uglies are perfect for garnishing with a dollop of sour cream or some cilantro after baking. It's easy to tweak the meat sauce, too; I added some chopped bell pepper that I lightly sauteed with the beef for a bit of crunch. My youngest daughter suggested adding some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrouchingBruin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a pretty good, basic recipe with a fun concept. Personally, they were a little too sweet for my preference and a little lacking in other flavors. I am sure the BBQ sauce can make a huge difference in how these turn out though. I thought my husband would like them since he tends to like "child friendly" foods, but he was pretty indifferent. I will probably try this recipe again with some modifications to personalize it to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These are great and we have had them a few times. Used only 1 cup of BBQ sauce and 1 cup of cheese to reduce calories and they were still overflowing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
So simple, yet ultra tasty! I used the "No Fail Biscuits" recipe on this site for the shell. OMG Each one of us had 3! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These were great! The whole family enjoyed! I'll be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It's nice to have something different to do with ground beef...not the most amazing dinner, but they are so easy and so I keep making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
DH really liked em. I made with whole wheat biscuit mix instead of refrig dough, and I did cut back the amount of bbq substantially. I just kind of eyeballed it. Also added some red hot pepp flakes for kick. I didn't get the "cafeteria food" impression at all with ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These were really yummy. Made exactly as stated other then used less cheese as my dad isn't a big fans. They lived up to the name of uglies but were truly tasty. Have give me a good jumping off point for other similar ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Uglies

They may not be pretty, but they make a beautiful family-friendly main dish.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States