Uglies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These were just okay. I might make again simply because they are quick and easy, but I don't get requests for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made it exactly as written. It tasted alright. If you don't mind cafeteria food, then this is good to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrouchingBruin
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is one of the few recipes that everyone in the family likes, and easy to make, to boot. I couldn't find any 10 oz. packages of biscuit dough; all the store had were the 16 oz. jumbo biscuits, which took up a lot more room in the muffin tin. I ended up with quite a bit of leftover meat because of that. I think next time, if I have to use the jumbo biscuits again, I'll try splitting each biscuit in half so I have a thinner layer of dough. One and a half cups of BBQ sauce was probably a bit much; it left the meat too liquidy. The Uglies are perfect for garnishing with a dollop of sour cream or some cilantro after baking. It's easy to tweak the meat sauce, too; I added some chopped bell pepper that I lightly sauteed with the beef for a bit of crunch. My youngest daughter suggested adding some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrouchingBruin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a pretty good, basic recipe with a fun concept. Personally, they were a little too sweet for my preference and a little lacking in other flavors. I am sure the BBQ sauce can make a huge difference in how these turn out though. I thought my husband would like them since he tends to like "child friendly" foods, but he was pretty indifferent. I will probably try this recipe again with some modifications to personalize it to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These are great and we have had them a few times. Used only 1 cup of BBQ sauce and 1 cup of cheese to reduce calories and they were still overflowing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
So simple, yet ultra tasty! I used the "No Fail Biscuits" recipe on this site for the shell. OMG Each one of us had 3! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These were great! The whole family enjoyed! I'll be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It's nice to have something different to do with ground beef...not the most amazing dinner, but they are so easy and so I keep making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
DH really liked em. I made with whole wheat biscuit mix instead of refrig dough, and I did cut back the amount of bbq substantially. I just kind of eyeballed it. Also added some red hot pepp flakes for kick. I didn't get the "cafeteria food" impression at all with ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These were really yummy. Made exactly as stated other then used less cheese as my dad isn't a big fans. They lived up to the name of uglies but were truly tasty. Have give me a good jumping off point for other similar ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Uglies

They may not be pretty, but they make a beautiful family-friendly main dish.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States