Ube-Macapuno Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My cake turned out an 'grey' color.. I used standard food coloring available in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was my first sponge cake. I decided to use the batter to make a roll. It was light, moist and spongy. Perfect batter. I sifted flour first, then measured. I added shredded coconut on top and coconut extract to frosting. I used 1/2 the liquid in the frosting and had to add more sugar. I also used frozen taro puree that I picked up in my local Asian market to save time. My entire family loved this cake! The only thing that needed improvement was the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miamaya
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Fantastic recipe! followed all the instructions and my cake turned out perfect considering it was my first time to bake a cake. I changed my frosting though based on the previous reviews and use french buttercream icing instead and it was a success! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miamaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this yesterday for our family dinner every body loves it.The color is beautiful and the cake is moist and delicious.I couldn't find yam so i mashed some sweet potato added some yam paste and yam flavour which i also used as my filling because i couldn't find macapuno here(Malaysia).Thanks a lot for sharing this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this into cup cakes. It was a hit. Don't chill the milk, it will curd the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Overall, I thought the cake lacked depth of flavor. I followed the recipe as written, processing the ube by scrubbing and boiling it before peeling and cubing it to put in my food mill. I certainly didn't get the deep purple color shown in the picture even with the food coloring. I didn't get the flavor that is typical of the ube cakes I've tasted at parties. However, I don't know if those cakes were enhanced with additional, perhaps artificial flavorings since none of them were homemade. Next time, I'll try roasting the ube before mashing it to see if that will enhance the flavor. The texture, however, was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I haven't tried baking this, but i've seen comment about icing doesn't work. I have been baking cakes with this icing recipe (but I used 1:1 ratio evap milk & sugar) - make sure the sugar dissolved very well & the container you're using is dry, not a drop of water. Also, make sure you add the milk/sugar mixture into the butter little by little. Try it. Everyone who tasted this butter icing says it good. For more ube flavor, add a teaspoon of ube flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I used ube powder instead of grated ube and added 1/4 cup more milk to the mixture because of it. The cake turned out great and it tasted good too. I didn't use the frosting included with this recipe, though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
the cake was moist but gray and the icing did not work at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I am half Phillipino and so I guess thats why I liked this cake better than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States