Ube-Macapuno Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This recipe is not good at all. Sorry. I followed this closely and the cake I find is tasteless, dry yet a dense cake. So sorry... will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sliceofheaven
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Best recipe I found in the internet I made them last night. Just rectify the buttercream icing I used my World's best Swiss Style Buttercream for the frosting and layered the Macapuno all over the cake layered. Cake doesn't turn out dry because it depends on how long you bake it and how did you mixed the ingredients.This cake is an oil based recipe so even if you keep them in the fridge it will stay moist. I am making this for a birthday cake on Sunday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sliceofheaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bairnsdale, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
After reading several other reviews and following my own gut I made couple changes on this recipe. For one, I added extra food coloring to get a vibrant color. I used about 3 tsp of each red and blue. I also mixed the ingredients slightly different, I added the salt into the egg whites to make them stiff and fluffy. I did not add anything else to the egg whites and added the rest to the batter. I also beat the batter as minimal as possible, just enough to get everything incorporated since this seemed to make the cake dry. I also decided to make cupcakes because I wanted small portions, this made 24 cupcakes exactly and took 20 minutes to cook. I topped with a coconut cream cheese frosting and shredded coconut. I took them to work and set them in the break room, they were gone by lunch and went over well:) People seemed to like the exotic food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very disappointed with this recipe as I tried and tested it and it was too dry. It's a shame that when people put a search on this recipe on Google it is at the top of the search page and this recipe is NOT the true representation of what makes a really good and favorite Filipino dessert. I say the 2 1/2 cups of flour should have been 2 cups instead, then it wouldn't be so dry! What a shame...I hope people will try again after being disappointed with this recipe and look at alternative recipes online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I've had this cake before at a Fillipina's birthday but after following this recipe to the letter, and doubling the food colouring, it still didn't turn out as purple as the photo or the previous cake. Do you use paste colour like what's used for cake decorating? I also noticed that the cake was a little heavy - by chance do you use Extra Large Eggs. My favourite angel food cake calls for 1 1/4 cups of egg whites so it doesn't matter what size eggs are used, because you always have the same amount of whites at the beginning, making the results consistent. Do you chop up your coconut sport? Everyone in our household loved the taste, but I'd like to tweak some areas of the recipe before I bake it to take it. Thanks Jackie (It's very tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline T
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
this is a great cake! i made it for a friend's bday and everybody loved it. though i did make revisions as follows: 1. it says bake 30 to 35 minutes, but i only baked it for 25 minutes. The result is that it was moist and not dry as some of the other reviewers said. 2. I made my own coconut buttercream icing using 2 cups butter, 1 cup sugar, and about half a cup of pureed macapuno. I placed the buttercream on top of each layer then the macapuno. Then covered the whole cake. the buttercream keeps the moisture of the cake in. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe step by step. But to my surprise, mine turned out dense. It's probably cuz my oven is electric and is so old. For the buttercream frosting. I chilled the evaporated milk, and still, for the third time, all I got was curd. the milk and butter didnt blend at all. I'll give it another try this week though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christinawu
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
It tastes pretty good. However, it turned out light purple. You will need to use more food color to have a deep/really purple Ube Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlen
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Turned out very good!!!! Next time I'd skip the salt. I doubled the food color just as another user has suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the steps carefully and the cake turned out too salty and lacking ube flavour, or flavour of any sort. As some people have said, it also took a lot of work. As for the "butter icing," I had to make 2 batches, and it failed both times. All it does is curd. I do not suggest anyone to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States