USMC SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Tried this recipe tonight. Took advice of one reviewer who suggested adding onion soup mix. Turned out very hearty and delicious! Would reduce the soup mix to 1/2 as it was a bit salty next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Oh yea, my dad used to make this when I was a kid. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muriel Holmes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
My wife and I both thought this turned out very well. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I have NEVER been so disappointed in a recipe from this website. In fact, I wound up not eating it at all and made a homemade pizza instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This was pretty good, but didn't have a lot of flavor on it's own. I used a lot of seasoning on the meat and it helped. This was very filling, however--it sits in your stomach like a rock! My bf and I couldn't move for awhile after filling up on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
I made this for breakfast along with toast and scrambled eggs for my husband, a former marine. He said it took him back almost 20 years & he loved it and can't wait till I make it again. I used the advice of others and added some onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I can remember eating this as a kid. Haven't had it forever. When I saw this recipe, I just had to make it. I did add a little milk to thin it, and we ate it over biscuits. My kids loved it. It's fast, cheap and very filling! Great comfort food. Thanks for the memories, and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I like this a lot. I served it with egg noddles and it's basically beef stroganoff. But it was good and my husband liked it. I'll keep it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
MY HUSBAND IS AN EX-MARINE AND HE REMEMBERS EATING THIS STUFF ALL THE TIME. I DID ADD SOME MORE REGULAR MILK AT THE END TO GIVE IT MORE GRAVY AND I ADDED SOME MORE SPICES TO THE MEAT BUT I THOUGHT THIS WAS A GREAT RECIPE AND MY KIDS LOVED IT. I SERVED OVER MASHED POTATOES. WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN FOR A FAST AND EASY DINNER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My daddy was a cook in the Navy during WWII and we used to look it when he cooked this when we were kids. I am a grandmother now, and I cooked this for my kids when they were growing up. Here are some VARIATIONS: Add Onion soup mix in the gravy, gives it a great taste. We love it over noodles. Use canned dried beef, that's was one of the ways Daddy used to make it. (I don't even know if they till sell that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States