USMC SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was good. It was cheap and easy for a family of 4. My kids loved it. I think it's because it had to do with USMC. They want to be like Marines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
A wonderful SOS - takes me way back to a great time - the chow hall. I did add soy sauce and worsteshire sauce and, because I did not have evaporated milk, I used whipping cream and it turned out to be rich and flavorful. I did need to cut it a bit with milk though. I also used the gravy mixture for swiss steak which was very tasty. Over all we'll have it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I've been looking for a way to stretch the dinner dollars when I found this recipe. My family of three loved it, and would have eaten more, so next time I won't cut the recipe back. I did add a small amount of sausage to the ground beef, and I happened to have some bacon grease left over(I always save it, refrigerate it, and use it often, instead of other forms of fat). I used it instead of the butter. Small changes, and the whole dish can be made for UNDER A DOLLAR A SERVING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
My husband grew up eating this dish so I decided to try it out. This recipe was DELICIOUS!!! The evaporated milk and beef broth is the key to this recipe. The only addition I made was to add freshly ground mild country sausage. I did double the white sauce to have more "gravy" than meat. My husband stated the addition of fresh sausage really added MORE savory flavor than what his mom used to make it. The family even had 2nd helpings! I may try using texas toast or english muffins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Make this way for great results: 1. In a Large Skillet brown 1 pound of VERY LEAN ground beef. 2. Turn OFF heat. 3. Add to the cooked beef: 1/4 cup softened butter, 1/2 cup flour, 2 tsp. instant beef bouillon granules, salt to (to your taste), ground pepper (to your taste). REMEMBER: at this point to stir all above until flour is completely absorbed, only then can you turn on the heat at medium high. 4. Then immediately add the milk and Worcestershire sauce in these amounts: 4 cups milk 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire (optional) 5. Cook and stir until thickened. Serve on biscuits or toast and sprinkle real bacon bits on top if desired
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I thought this was much much better than the Army SOS on this site. I love this, it is the best comfort food out there. I have always heard that SOS was awful but I would definatley eat this every week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Ridge, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I have been eating this since I was a Child! My dad loved this. My favorite part was the tiny squares of toast my dad would make to eat it on. The toast is what makes it so YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This recipe was soooo very bland. It's good to get you started but it definitely needed work. I added diced onion while browning the meat then seasoned it with garlic powder and a little seasoning salt. I also added in worcestershire & soy sauce to the roux mixture and then it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Best SOS ever.This must be the original recipe from the armed forces recipe book. (JUST KIDDING) It is really flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nettie, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Great basic SOS . I sometimes use Turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States