USMC SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
Oh my God! How simple! And yet so gooood! (and cheap too). I doubled the recipe except the beef and it was still very tasty. Thanks for this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This was the best S.O.S. I've ever had. I had it in the joint for the 3 years I was in, but it never tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
this was great. was just like the one my mom used to make. i added onions and canned mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
Yum... My whole family enjoyed this quick and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
With this recipe I made a USMC toast sandwich, YUM! I added canned mushrooms. It was a simple, fast, delicious dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
We enjoyed this VERY easy and tasty dish served over toast. I remember my dad always made this and we always enjoyed it, now I know how to make it, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
What with the positive reviews I expected to be more excited with the finished product. It was a decent dish - I guess you can only expect so much with ground beef. But it wasn't exciting new taste sensation or anything. It makes a good staple and would be extra good in winter. I will probably make it once every now and then, but I'm not in any hurry. Note: I added chopped onion and canned mushrooms as other reviewers suggested. I'd say that it definitely needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Was good for an SOS recipe. Best I have tried. The only change would be to serve over homemade mashed potatoes rather than toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This was a very tasty and easy dish. I will try it over mashed potatoes next time. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My daddy was a cook in the Navy during WWII and we used to look it when he cooked this when we were kids. I am a grandmother now, and I cooked this for my kids when they were growing up. Here are some VARIATIONS: Add Onion soup mix in the gravy, gives it a great taste. We love it over noodles. Use canned dried beef, that's was one of the ways Daddy used to make it. (I don't even know if they till sell that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States