USMC SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very good. I added hot sauce and chopped onion and garlic powder. Add a side of hash browns and it makes for a comfy filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made this recipe using ground black bear and changed beef broth to chicken broth also replaced can milk to half and half flavor was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I liked it I used hot spicy breakfast sausage and instead of condensed milk I used regular milk was a hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Military SOS is good over just about anything. I LOVE mine over eggs...any kind of eggs. Try adding diced jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrJemJr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I added some onion & used ground bison for the meat. It still turned out great, I love the versatility of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I grew up on this recipe! My parents PGd the title down for us calling it poop on the roof, although the title is not all that appealing the meal is delish! We always put it over mashed potatoes and threw insome onions and garlic and used regular milk instead of evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This turned out awesome! I did make a few changes, however. I did use 1 lb. lean ground beef, 2 1-/2 tbls. butter and I used about 5 tbls. flour, I used chicken broth instead of beef, as I was out and I used the whole can of broth, so as not to waste. I also microwaved frozen veges in my microcooker and then added it all together. I took refrig. biscuits and baked those in the oven while preparing the rest. Just open the biscuits up and pour on the sauce! My whole family, including my older infant daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Family loved it with a few changes. Cooked ground beef with onions and garlic powder. Then made roux with flour and butter. Added one can of beef consomme, milk, more garlic powder, seasoning salt, parsley, pepper, and worchestershire. Thickened a little more with a mixture of corn starch and water. Served over toast and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is much better than how my Mom made it when I was little, I took the first reviewer's advice and added chopped onion, garlic powder and Worcestershire sauce. This was so yummy! I served it over mashed potatoes like my Mom used to, great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I love this recipe it is so easy and good. I did add chopped onions and garlic powder to the cooking meat and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States