U.S. Navy Minced Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
As a Marine aboard the USS Henrico on my way to Viet Nam, I had the pleasure of eating Navy Chow. This dish above all was my favorite. I haven't had this for over 44 years and now I've found it again. Now if my house could start rocking back and forth, I'll enjoy it more. Thank you for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
One of the few dishes in the Navy I could keep down. Served at most of my commands every Sunday for brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bourdainiac

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
i've been looking for this recipe for over 40yrs. many thanks!! we had it over bisquites & [esp.] diced potatoes [very good] many thx. eugene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is by far the most easiest and yummiest mince dish i have ever eaten i have made it for heaps of people and everyone is demanding me to make it more often at their parties thank you for putting this great dish on this website high marks for you :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This definitely brought back memories of my Navy days and breakfast aboard the ships on which I served! When I first saw the stuff on the serving line, I thought it a bit strange to have for breakfast, but I quickly came to like it. Minced beef on toast, a couple eggs, a big glass of OJ, and a cup of good old Navy coffee made a great hearty breakfast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
We called the stuff "s*** on a shingle" but we sure ate it. This recipe eats better than I recall the original did. The hungrier you are, the better it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
if you don't have nutmeg you can use mace as an acceptable substitute. We use to use both spices when we made it just used 1/2 the amt for each one. if you don't have diced tomatoes use whole tomatoes and crush them before adding them to the mix if you do this cut back on the tomato juice since whole tomatoes will ad more juice and it will be waterery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
When I was in the Navy, early 60s, I was a cook. Navy SOS always was a favorite. On the 2 different submarine tenders I was on we served it regularly. I don't know about the rest of the Navy but we always had great food. The chiefs running the general mess made sure the food quality was good and that the crew liked what they ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Just like I remembered. Also good over scrambled eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My Navy pilot husband just put this recipe in front of me...with a big smile. He'd been looking for one for years since he'd served on the USS Kearsarge aircraft carrier during Vietnam. He said all the food he had in the Navy was good. As far as the SOS goes...we both remember that as being chipped beef in a white sauce served over toast. I'll be fixing this at our house often. I think I'll add a fried egg on top of mine though. Thanks for posting this STILLATIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States