U.S. Navy Minced Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
i've been looking for this recipe for over 40yrs. many thanks!! we had it over bisquites & [esp.] diced potatoes [very good] many thx. eugene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Fairly decent "Trailer Chow."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
A nice meal when the funds are low. The flavor was sweet, but it was a perfect dish on a day where it is -35 degrees below zero. I put a slice of swiss cheese on my toast and piled it with the meat. Pretty greasy, but it worked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
One of the few dishes in the Navy I could keep down. Served at most of my commands every Sunday for brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bourdainiac

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This definitely brought back memories of my Navy days and breakfast aboard the ships on which I served! When I first saw the stuff on the serving line, I thought it a bit strange to have for breakfast, but I quickly came to like it. Minced beef on toast, a couple eggs, a big glass of OJ, and a cup of good old Navy coffee made a great hearty breakfast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This brings back my days when I was in first grade, I just had to try it to see if it was the same dish. Pretty much was, they fed this to us all the time. It's still ok, next time I would skip the juice and add an extra can of rotel tomatos with herbs. Thanks for the post and bringing back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was good. I added some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is by far the most easiest and yummiest mince dish i have ever eaten i have made it for heaps of people and everyone is demanding me to make it more often at their parties thank you for putting this great dish on this website high marks for you :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Very good, Brought back old memorys for my Dad an I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Stanardsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This is a simple recipe although I used tomato sauce instead of juice because that's what I had. I also pared down the recipe for 1 lb. of ground turkey. My husband prefers the white sauce version that I normally make. My 8 yr old son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States