Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I tweaked this recipe based on a wonderful reccomendation from woman in Santorini, Greece. Directions & ingredients are the same, just adjusted the amounts. You MUST drain the yogurt for 5-6 hours or overnight. English cucumber is not necessary, as you can use a regular large cucumber, peel, cut into quarters & use spoon to remove seeds, then shread w/ cheese grater. Shred cuke over a lint free tea towel, grab the ends of the towel together, twist and squeeze out the water. 2 large cloves garlic is plenty & I am a garlic lover. Will be too over powering w/ 5 cloves, already tried it on the first batch. 1 TBSP distilled white vinegar. 5 TBSP extra virgin olive oil. 1/2 tsp sea salt or to taste. I even received rave reviews from my Greek Father-In-Law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
AWESOME - No changes necessary. I've been looking for a recipe that was a perfect flavor and texture match for the Tzatziki we had while living in Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Authentic taste, and great side to homemade pita and falafel. (In our house my family prefers tzatziki to tahini.) I did decrease the garlic a bit, but otherwise, a delightful side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Very similar to what I had in Greece: no dill, no mint, no lemon juice! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Loved this! I added chopped fresh dill and red wine vinegar instead of the white vinegar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Tasty, yet I don't really think the olive oil is needed. I don't know... I could really tast the OO, and it was just a little strange, I thought. I will try it again, leaving it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
awesome with the Souvlaki. I've made several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Every bit as good as we get from our local Greek restuarant. I used fat free yogurt for health reasons, but it does make a difference in the texture. I also did not drain the yogurt as I didn't have time. I did pour of the liquid sitting on top though. I also used a seeded regular cucumber rather than English because it was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Very good. I also seeded the cucumber and added a pinch of dill(some people use mint instead). First time I made this I bought fat free yogurt by mistake. DO NOT ever do this. I could not drain liquid out and it tasted WAY too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States