Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was divine! As per other readers' reviews, I made sure to drain my yogurt. It's highly, highly recommended, otherwise you'll get soup. I had no cheesecloth readily available, but coffee filters seemed to do the trick. I'm currently draining yogurt for a new batch, this time with cheesecloth (2 layers), and it seems to be draining way better so I expect an even thicker tzatziki this time around. I'm a huge garlic fan, so I didn't mind the excess garlic in this recipe. The only problem was that it stunk up my lunch bag for a few days and I'm sure my co-workers could smell it. But I'm not a big fan of the flavour of oil, so I put in about 2/3 of what the recipe calls for. Vinegar seemed to work just fine, but I will try lemon this time around. And adding fresh dill really topped it off. Thank you so much for this recipe! Now that my boyfriend has learned how to make goat yogurt (he can't have cow products), we have all sorts of options for new food ideas and this tzatziki takes the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
It was alright, but there just was something not right about it, next time I will tweak the ingredients and amounts a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Gunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I followed the instructions, except I did use the greek yogurt because that is clearly faster...the flavor is great, a bit of zip from the garlic, very good with grilled meat and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is the classic Greek-style that most Greek grand-mothers and/or mothers would use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was great, I made it over the holidays and served it with roasted pita wedges. It takes a lot of time from start to finish but, well worth not cutting corners. Wonderful and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCDutcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe. I halved it, as I only had enough ingredients for half a batch, but the garlic was a little strong, as some have said. This is as close as I have come to the restaurant one we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Used Greek yogurt, no need to drain plus a bit of freshly chopped mint. Cool and light flavors and the raw garlic adds a nice bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was marvelous! I used cheesecloth, as directed, to strain the yogurt. (I keep plain yogurt on hand for smoothies and as I don't have access to traditional Greek yogurt I may always use this technique to give my regular store brand yogurt this wonderful texture.) I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic and was sorry for having done so. I did add a bit of dill and think it enhanced the flavor. Thanks Teina for a wonderfully authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I added a bit of dill but aside from that a great stand by and really quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Awesome...used extra garlic and it had just the right amount of kick...I've used it as a dip, as a sandwich spead and on the side with grilled souvlaki...definately a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States