Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great! Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
i used lemon juice instead of the vinegar, and just a tad of dill... thank you for a great recipee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breadman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
There are three things I would have done differently. I didn't let my yogurt drain long enough (maybe 4 hours), I would let drain longer next time, just to get it a bit thicker. I used pre-minced garlic in oil that I just crushed up. I could not get enough of a garlic flavor to mine. I would use fresh cloves next time, but didn't have any on hand. I would also puree my cucumber. I ended up being pretty chunky. Not terrible, but not what I'm used to. All in all a pretty good recipe. I definitely plan on using this one again. Even with the things above (all my fault, not the recipe) it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Love this recipe. Just made it and my boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessAjay2
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My first time making Tzatziki! This was a big hit with 9 out of the 10 people at dinner! We served it with homemade seasoned steak gyros. The 10th person just doesn't eat yogurt in any form so even a hint of the flavor turned him off. However, this was a fun recipe to make (grating the cukes!!) and it made a lot!! I served it again 2 days later with a salad on which we threw cooked breaded chicken nuggets and everyone went crazy for the sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIJANUARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
i used nonfat plain yogurt undrained and it worked fine. i scaled this down to 4 but used 1 clove garlic. i also used 1 standard cuke peeled, seeded, grated in my food processor, and blotted w/ paper towels. i was pleasantly surprised by the vinegar and would use it again instead of lemon juice. i added a pinch of dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
While this was not as good as the tzatziki I had while in Greece, it is still, nonetheless, quite good. I used a greek style type of yogurt instead of plain and did not drain using a cheese cloth. I imagine it would have been thicker, but all the same it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was divine! As per other readers' reviews, I made sure to drain my yogurt. It's highly, highly recommended, otherwise you'll get soup. I had no cheesecloth readily available, but coffee filters seemed to do the trick. I'm currently draining yogurt for a new batch, this time with cheesecloth (2 layers), and it seems to be draining way better so I expect an even thicker tzatziki this time around. I'm a huge garlic fan, so I didn't mind the excess garlic in this recipe. The only problem was that it stunk up my lunch bag for a few days and I'm sure my co-workers could smell it. But I'm not a big fan of the flavour of oil, so I put in about 2/3 of what the recipe calls for. Vinegar seemed to work just fine, but I will try lemon this time around. And adding fresh dill really topped it off. Thank you so much for this recipe! Now that my boyfriend has learned how to make goat yogurt (he can't have cow products), we have all sorts of options for new food ideas and this tzatziki takes the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
It was alright, but there just was something not right about it, next time I will tweak the ingredients and amounts a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Gunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I followed the instructions, except I did use the greek yogurt because that is clearly faster...the flavor is great, a bit of zip from the garlic, very good with grilled meat and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States