Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Use this with the lamb kufta kabobs - perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I served this with Chicken Souvlaki and pita. I didn't have time to strain the yogurt or drain the cucumbers but everyone enjoyed it and not a bit was leftover. Thanks for sharing such an awsome recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Love this recipe! It reminds me of the same tzatziki our local gyro place used. MMM! So good! Some gyro places use a more cucumbery tasting sauce, but I've always loved it without so much. Followed this recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Did not have to strain our yogurt because it had a low water content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
while i did not use Vinegar, i used a little Lemon Juice, it came out fine. i added some McCormick's Hot Shot (mix of black and red pepper) and it was good. depending on HOW think you want it, let the yogurt drain longer. i had mine for two nights. TIP: to help draw water out of the cucumber, put some salt on it, not a lot, wait about 20-30 minutes then wring the cloth (containing shredded cuke) out. if you want your Tzaatziki smoother then you need to really puree your cuke. i like chunks in mine so the recipe is fine. also you can add dill or mint, i prefer a bit of dill. add to taste. just so you know if you think it tastes good now, the next day and after it will get a bit stronger sitting in the fridge. that is why i make a batch big enough for two or three dinners and the sauce keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Delish! I used 32 oz fat-free yogurt drained in colander on coffee filters overnight (you'd be surprised how much liquid drains off). 2 small cucumbers peeled, quartered, seeded then chopped fine (I salted then placed between paper towels weighted with plates for an hour). Grated 5 cloves of garlic (makes it VERY garlicky - might cut back if you're not a fan) 1 TBS lemon juice, 1 TBS vinegar, 3 TBS olive oil and a sprinkle of sugar and lemon zest. It came out excellent! I've made it without draining and the flavor is somewhat different and the consistency is more salad-dressing like. I much prefer it this way. Great as a veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is the original recipe that we make here in Greece, only we put dill in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I'm not sure what went wrong but one of the posters said to use a food processor and I ended up with milk! I used balkan style yogurt so maybe that was the problem? Also, the flavour seemed to be missing something compared to the store bought dip. Kind of sour and not creamy. I used 2 garlic cloves and that was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This Tzatziki was really good, but I did cut back on most of the ingredients. I used 4 cloves of garlic, 2 tbsp. of olive oil and 1 tbsp of vinegar and it tasted really good. It was still a little garlicky, so I will cut back to 3 cloves next time. Also, there is a lot of cucumber in this recipe and the taste is predominant. I think a small cucumber would be better. I also added some dried dill to mine. Thanks for the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I grated the cucumber and garlic as per my roomies direction and it came out good. Tasted sour the next day. Maybe the mint or paprika I added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I'm making it for the 2nd time and I have a feeling it will become a regular salad in this house. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States