Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
If you use a good Greek yogurt, no need to strain it. I added dill, substituted lemon juice for the vinegar. Seed and salt the cucumber and put in a colander over a bowl for about a half hour to remove excess water. Then process it in a food processor with the herbs, lemon juice, and olive oil before mixing with the yogurt. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious base! I used a 16 ounce container of 2% Greek yogurt from Trader Joe's (I've found that Greek Yogurt eliminates the need for straining) and about 3/4 of a peeled, seeded cucumber. I added 2 cloves of garlic, about 3/4 TBS of white balsamic vinegar, juice of 1/2 lemon, salt to taste, and 1 TBS olive oil (which I didn't think it would need, but it really made it creamier). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
A scant tablespoon oil in our Tzatziki, no vinegar, only freshly squeezed lemon juice in ours as well. The grated cucumber should be set in a strainer lined with cheesecloth to remove the excess water, unless, you're not particular about serving runny Tzatziki. A sidenote. Ever since we had a serious food poisoning outbreak in our area from pesticide coated english cucumbers, any cukes I do not grow in my own garden, are always peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Great recipe :) I seeded the cuke, halved the garlic- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Thank You for doing this right! it the authentic way, I'm so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber.blundon1989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This tzatziki was like ambrosia! I cut the recipe down to 1 C. greek yogurt (Zoi brand) and sliced the regular cuke thin and small and salted it for about an hour. Followed the recipe without adding any additional salt and it turned out delectable! Next time I will use more cucumber. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
this is the answer! i've tried tzatziki before but the next day it is so watery and unappetizing. i used balkan style full fat yogurt and strained overnight using cheesecloth. i also added fresh herbs after combining all ingredients including dill, parsley, mint. even with herbs the next day it wasn't watery. i seeded the cucumber and cut up v. small and put in paper towel for 10 min or so. i would definitely make this again! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Out of all the tzatziki recipes this is the most authentic. Some people like it runny, some like it thicker. You can buy strained yogurt or you can make it yourself using a strainer and "basket" coffee filters if you don't have cheese cloth. Another way to make the water stay in the cucumbers, is not to grate them but dice them with a knife. This way you get a more crunchy consistency as well. I see no need for a food processor, in fact it may mess up the texture. You can use some sour cream as well to enhance the flavor. This is a Greek-American variation that makes tzatziki richer and smooths out some favors. Great dip for vegetables. Take care!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Buying a nice quality Greek yogurt makes straining unnecessary. Halved recipe but only used 1 clove garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States