Tzatziki VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great. Exactly how it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used homemade roasted garlic and I doubled the dill weed because I used dried instead of fresh. This is INCREDIBLE. I cannot stop eating it. NOTE: For homemade roasted garlic, what I do is peel the outer layers of the garlic bulb leaving the bulb intact, place the bulb in a smallish oven-safe bowl (or a 6-cup muffin tin if you do it in bulk, like I do) drizzle with EVOO and cover with aluminum foil. Then, just bake for a half hour or so until the cloves are softened. Wa-la, roasted garlic. Also, if you do not have cheesecloth, you can drain your yogurt in layers of coffee filters in a colander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is my favorite recipe for tzatziti. I have made it like this about 10 times. I will say I only use a clove of garlic. I dont know if he meant a head or clove but a clove is plenty for me. I only add a few tablespoons of olive oil depending on how long I have drained yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
So good! I did blend it through a blender because I thought shreds of cucumber in this would be weird...but the flavour is so good and so garlicky. Love it!!! First time I ever made tzatziki and now I know how easy and good it is.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
4 stars because of two things. I don't think most folks will appreciate a whole head of garlic in this or so much lemon. I mixed this with a 16 oz container thick "Greek" yogurt, 3 cloves crushed garlic sauteed in 1 tblsp Olive oil. 1 tsp fresh lemon juice, a sprinkle of dried oregano and 1/2 tsp of dry dill. I did twist my (seeded) grated cucumber in a tea towel (to get rid of excess moisture) before incorporating. Also a tsp of honey will tone down excessive tart flavor (matter of pref). A little ground sea salt & fresh pepper is all that's needed as well. Very good w/out so much garlic/oil/lemon juice. For me anyway :) Tastes better after storing overnight in fridge. I utilize my own homemade baked pita chips (use quality pita bread) to dip in this...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
this is the oringinal recipe of greek tzatziki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Greek yogurt which is now available in most grocery stores, eliminates the need for straining the yogurt. I used a high fat Cabot's brand. I added some chopped fresh dill as well. I used a cheese grater for shredding and a grapefruit spoon for the seeding. This was by far the best Tzatziki that I have ever eaten. It was very thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was great on gyros! Made a much smaller portion with a standard small plain yogurt and one cucumber. Skipped the dill. Added McCormick Greek Seasoning. Let it sit in the fridge for a few hours beforehand. Used with chicken seasoned with the same Greek Seasoning in pitas w/feta, lett, tom, etc. Yum! This is my new staple recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Love this recipe...I always get compliments when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This recipe is great. I used greek yogurt so I didn't strain it. I did drain the cukes. But then I just mixed together all the ingredients - I didn't whisk. I popped it in the fridge for an hour or 2 before dinner and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States