Tzatziki VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I didn't have cucumber on hand, so threw in a spoonful of sweet relish. The other ingredients masked most of the flavor of that, but all in all turned out to be a very good homemade tzatziki. I didnt drain the yogurt, too time consuming, and diced a little onion (very fine) into it as well. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This was awesome. It is a bit time consuming but only because you have to let the yougurt drain for a few hours. After that is ready, it's easy and very tasty. The recipe asked for lemon juice but the directions said vinegar. I just used the lemon juice. I dipped pita bread into it as a snack or appetizer, it's great. My Middle Eastern friend's family eats this frequently and he said mine turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I entertain frequently and this recipe was a big hit during our Olympic parties. Although time consuming, draining the yogurt really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Delicious! Just like the sauce at a Greek restaurant. This was perfect paired with the Gyros Burgers recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this last night for a get together and everyone loved it. I was nervous the kids wouldn't like it, but they definetely did. I didn't put in as much garlic and put in more dill. Delish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Went perfect with the gyros that I made. My first time making it and it turned out just like I've had in restaurants. I used dried dill because it was all I had on hand, but still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! I made 1/2 of a recipe to go with gyros I was making and we had plenty. I started out with Greek yogurt which I think is slightly thicker than regular yogurt. I only had time to drain it about 45 minutes. I shredded the cuc's and let them drain about 30 minutes. The recipe doesn't call for this step but I think it gave me a better result and I was concurrently waiting for the yogurt to drain. When I put it all together I was very happy with the consistency. It was the perfect thickness and tasted just like what is served in Greek restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Delicious and refreshing! I made a couple changes so I wouldn't have to make another trip to the grocery store: I made 1/4 of the recipe using sour cream instead of yogurt, garlic granules instead of fresh garlic, and dried dill instead of fresh. It was creamy and tasty. I will NEVER buy pre-made tzatziki again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This tastes like the Tzatziki you'd have at a Greek restaurant. I did modify it slightly by adding minced onion (but only because I like onions not because the recipe was lacking.) Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This recipe is GREAT I did the entire thing in the food processor started with the cucumber so I could remove and drain them and followed previous reviews reducing the garlic down to one clove. Good olive oil and fresh squeezed lemon juice are a must. A quick update, Greek style yogurt can be substituted for the drained yogurt it saves a LOT of time and is now available in most major supermarkets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States