Tzatziki VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I'm sorry, but I just didn't like this recipe. I've had tzatziki in restaurants several times and loved it, but this was not even close. I think the lemon and garlic measurements are way off. I tried adding sugar to take off the bite, but the batch I made was not even salvageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This tzatziki was fantastic. We actually like ours a little runny, so after I drained the initial batch of yogurt, I added some undrained yogurt back in. Substituted some garlic salt for part of the garlic. One thing is essential, though: THE FLAVORS MUST BLEND. This was not that great initially, just after everything was mixed. A couple of days in the fridge, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I took the advice of another reviewer and strained the yogurt in two coffee filters overnight in a strainer. Worked perfectly. I used a little less garlic and a little mroe dill. Highly adaptable to suit everyone's tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Really good! I did not need the additional cuke and thought this was wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very good recipe but watch out for the amounts of spices. An entire head of garlic? Seems like an obvious error, but those who suggest a single clove are using too little. I prefer a bolder taste. I used four cloves of garlic, also added an extra tablespoon of lemon juice, and a tablespoon or so of fresh chopped dill. This provides a much bolder flavor; the base recipe is quite mild by my standard. I have found that the "name brand" plain yogurt tends to be less runny than the generic store brand and is more cost effective than greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Maybe this is just personal preference, but I found this recipe came out runny and even after adding some extra garlic it didn't have as much flavour as typical tzatziki has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Halved the yogurt, but it still made plenty (didn't have enough time to drain, so it was a bit runny, but still scrumptious!) Added 2 shredded Persian cucumbers (fewer seeds, more flavor), about 6 cloves garlic and the juice from one lemon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I didn't have fresh garlic so I had to use garlic powder (about two teaspoons) and I had dried dill, I used almost a tablespoon. I used fresh ground pepper and a dash of salt. I drained the yoghurt for over twenty four hours (in a seive lined with coffee filters), and really squeezed out the cucumbers - first in my bare hands, then again in coffee filters just to get every little bit of moisture. It turned out amazing, very tangy. It's not quite as thick as I'd like, but I'll see how it is after sitting in the fridge overnight. I'm just glad to know I can make my own tzatziki now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
exceelent as this dish is great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Very good! I served this with falafels and some garlic couscous for dinner last night and everyone really liked it. Had some leftovers for lunch ....added in some feta cheese and chick peas...so good and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States