Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2002
The ingredients are correct in this recipe but it is missing a step that would solve the runniness problem. You must drain the yogurt in a colander for a few hours. This is the way they do it the Greek restaurants. You should also salt and drain the cucumbers for an hour. I tried this recipe and drained the yogurt first and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is some pretty tasty sauce! So good, in fact, that I spent the rest of the evening scouring my pantry and fridge for things to dip into it! Very garlicky so it's a bit hot...but I love garlic so that's OK with me. I incorporated several of the tips that I found from reading other reviews: drained the fat-free yogurt in cheese cloth over a bowl in the fride overnight, shredded the cukes then salted them and let them drain all day...I even patted them a bit with a paper towel to absorb some more moisture, and I mixed everything together very gently and let sit in the fridge to develop it's flavor. WELL worth the effort! This sauce was BETTER than many I've had out! Thanks so much Dinah! Now I have a way to satisy my craving for Greek food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
651 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Great on Greek Salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
Watch out for the garlic, it will kill ya the next day! This is my fave Tzatziki recipe cause of the addition of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I brought this in for a work potluck as a vegetable dip and it was a big hit. Like some people suggested, I blended everything in the food processor and gently mixed it with the yogurt that I had let drain overnight. It was a good dip consistency and tasted just like the tzatziki I get in my favorite Greek restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Delicious and refreshing. Good with pita squares, chicken, and vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I made this for my sis (and my) birthday (we're twins) and everyone there loved this. We used Pita chips for dipping. As my daugher said, "This tastes exactly like the Tzatziki we eat at our favorite Greek restaurant." It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Edgerton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Totally awesome sauce. Very refreshing. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This was wonderful! I served this on shrimp pitas with sauteed green peppers and onions. I also followed another users' suggestion to fold the ingredients into the yogurt instead of using the food processor, and let it sit in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was fantastic. I chopped the cucumbers instead of using the food processor and then I spread it over chicken in a pita. Make a lot because it is hard to stop eating it. It was even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States