Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2002
The ingredients are correct in this recipe but it is missing a step that would solve the runniness problem. You must drain the yogurt in a colander for a few hours. This is the way they do it the Greek restaurants. You should also salt and drain the cucumbers for an hour. I tried this recipe and drained the yogurt first and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Good, but PLEASE NOTE: yogurt will break down if it is stirred with too much force--especially using a food processor! This is why some people had runny results even after draining the yogurt overnight. Instead, chop everything else up separately and gently fold it into the yogurt with a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is some pretty tasty sauce! So good, in fact, that I spent the rest of the evening scouring my pantry and fridge for things to dip into it! Very garlicky so it's a bit hot...but I love garlic so that's OK with me. I incorporated several of the tips that I found from reading other reviews: drained the fat-free yogurt in cheese cloth over a bowl in the fride overnight, shredded the cukes then salted them and let them drain all day...I even patted them a bit with a paper towel to absorb some more moisture, and I mixed everything together very gently and let sit in the fridge to develop it's flavor. WELL worth the effort! This sauce was BETTER than many I've had out! Thanks so much Dinah! Now I have a way to satisy my craving for Greek food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
663 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Instead of using regular yogurt, substitute Greek Yogurt (my supermarket sells "Total"). This yogurt is much thicker than regular yogurt and therefore does not need to be drained. Also, you don't really need a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
On the runniness issue: tip from my mom--finely dice the cucumbers, put in a strainer add a little salt, stir. Let sit for as long as you can take it to drain water. Blot with a paper towel to remove more water. Add into recipe as directed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
We enjoyed this recipe but I used sour cream instead of yogurt. alot of resaurants in Montreal use it and we find the taste is better. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sumner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
To be truly superb, tzatziki MUST be made with strained, whole mild yogurt from Greece, otherwise the result will be runny as many users have noted. Also lemon juice is preferable to vinegar. But the one non-negotiable item is the strained, full fat yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This was good, but it didn't taste like the "tzatziki" from our local Greek restaurant. My family loves the one from the restaurant and I think we are just used to their's. I think they use sour cream in addition to the yogart which makes it smooth and thick...I will work on it. Thank you for sharing your recipe. We used it for the "gyrolls" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This is a good Recipe: HELPFUL HINTS: Drain your full fat yogurt in a cheesecloth for a couple hours. Also, salt your cucumber and then squeeze out excess water after 20 min or so. The flavor of this recipe is great. I think these things will make its watery consistancy even better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Really great alternative to the "real thing". We use this on chicken pitas, I don't even bother to blend and I shred the cukes instead and add a couple tablespoons or so of sour cream....So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States