Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I LOVED this. I've tried many, but this is THE ONE. I made Traditional Gyro Meat from this site and it was the best gyro ever. I'll use this for gyros and dip for pita chips and veggies. I used greek yogurt and I recommend that instead of regular yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberkaye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I really like this recipe and tweak it to suit our tastes, but it's perfect as written. (I omit the olive oil, and drain the yogurt. As well as salt and drain the cukes. It really does make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Like many of the other posts - I also found this recipe way too runny the first time round and was left with a watery mess. I very quickly added some sour cream to thicken it up (needed to serve it right away) which of course diluted the flavour and never really did thicken it up much more. Second time around, I drained the cucumbers and yoghurt over cheese cloth in the morning and by mid day (roughly 6 hours later) I combined all ingredients, blended by hand, and left in fridge to until our late evening meal. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Levin-Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I agree with Paula Wood. You must salt and drain the cucumber for at least an hour. It releases a large amount of water. Then rinse with water and squeeze dry with paper towels. I also use half Greek yogurt and Kefir cheese. It produces a rich, creamy Tzaziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I don't know why I haven't tried making my own tzatziki before. How stinkin' easy! I basically halved this, so here are the quantities I used: 1 6 oz container plain Greek yogurt half of a cucumber, shredded and drained 1 tbsp OO 1/2 lemon 1 clove garlic I left out the dill, since everyone I've had never seemed to reek of dill (not a huge fan) and I thought it tasted pretty darn good. I actually think the garlic was a bit pungent (I grated it). But it is really a great, easy sauce to make. Used it as the dressing on a Greek salad (using the Greek Chicken Recipe from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
So yummy drizzled on baba ganouj and sautéed ground lamb (add cinnamon, sautéed onion and garlic and fresh parsley, raisins, s and p) with feta, on toasted flatbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is so much better with Greek yogurt. You can make your own with regular plain yogurt by lining a funnel or (using a cone coffee funnel) with a coffee filter, adding plain yogurt and let sit overnight in "frig..it will be a little less than 16 oz, but will still work in this recipe. Great for toasted pita dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I love this! Peel, cut lengthwise and scrape out the seed of the cucumber. Then, then grate the cucumber and squeeze it in your hands over the sink taking out most of the water. Stir it into the yogurt. It may not be as thick as the Greek yogurt mixture. But, it's a lot faster and you'll like just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Excellent sauce- tastes just like the restaurant version. Had it with shish tawook wraps for dinner. Drained the yogurt while I chopped up the cukes, and it wasn't runny at all. Also made sure to cut out the seeds. I just combined the ingredients in a bowl with a whisk instead of dirtying the food processor, and that worked well. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
came out fantastic with plenty of flavor- added a little sour cream to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States