Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
It turned out a little bitter but it was good dip for veggies and sliced pita bread. Not sure if i would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
great recipe...tastes amazing on falafel pitasand veggie burgers. I also drained the yogurt and cucumbers over night. Good tip: use greek yogurt if you don't want to drain it: it is much thicker than regular yogurt. I didn't use a blender either; use a food processor to chop all ingredients than mix together gently. I also cut some of the tartness by adding a tiny bit of honey (about 1/2 tsp). This is a really yummy dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I tried a non-fat version, using non-fat greek yogurt (which is thick and doesn't need to be drained). I DID salt and drain the cucumbers though, and 3 days later this is still NOT watery! :) I did not use olive oil. I've seen recipes using cilantro in addition to the dill, which I did. The only thing I don't like about the taste, is that I think there is a touch too much lemon juice. Otherwise, this is delicious, creamy, tangy, and GREAT as a dip for veggies or pita chips. :) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Here's what you need to know for a fantastic Ziki sauce. Use ONLY authentic Greek yougart. Strain will be needed. Or, if you don't like the overwhelming taste of Greek yogurt, and I don't personally, use 98% Sour Cream and 2% Greek Yogurt. DO NOT FEAR THE GARLIC FOLKS! GO AS CRAZY AS YOU LIKE WITH IT!. Personally, I use 3 1/2 to 4 large Elephant Garlic bulbs minced finely for that incredible, spicy garlicky kick! DO NOT put yogurt in blender. Stir / fold yogurt only by hand. Place shredded and SEEDED cucumbers in a sprinkling of sea salt in a strainer for 3 hours then place in thick paper towels & wring cucumbers out hard by hand. Add two LARGE spoon fulls of Sour Cream or Greek yogurt. (depending on which way you want the premise of this Ziki recipe to taste) It adds either a WONDERFUL creamy taste or a FULL authentic Greek taste. Use one tsp. dried dill per one tlb. fresh (if nothing fresh on hand) but use 4 tbls fresh dill if AT ALL possible. Be careful of adding too much salt to taste in this mix. With the salt you've already added to help drain the cucumbers and the salty taste of the lemon juice, it might over power your sauce. Cracked pepper to taste. Let sauce chill for at least 2 hours. The taste will increase exponentially with time. Make a double batch as this sauce goes great with many dishes. Especially chicken and fish. This is a 5* recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Michael O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
A worderful side to go with any greek dish such as lemon chicken, also great with pita bread as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stumbing Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Stands up pretty well against the sauce at the really great Greek joint in town here. I used Greek style plain yogurt and the consistency was pretty thick in the end. I also did NOT use a food processor, was very easy to make without it, shredded the cucumber, and this would be a good time to remove some excess water (from the cucumber) if you are worried about thickness. Will be tweaking of course, mine had a little too much lemon so I'll watch out for that next time (and might try using only a little lemon juice and a little vinegar?). But I will be using this recipe and building on it as my go to Tzatziki. Great with raw zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great and easy sauce! You can try using Greek style yogurt to keep the sauce from getting runny, and to avoid needing to strain it yourself. I also added 1/3 of a white onion, not sure how traditional that is, but it was definitely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tpeachykeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
It's a bit runny. Next time I'll take the seeds out of the cucumber and that should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgleason

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I definately would not use processor. The best thing to do is partially skin the cucumber then shred it like you would cheese. I also love this w/ Koriander(cilantro)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Fantastic taste. Wonderful on pitas with chicken. I used fresh from garden cucumbers and homemade yogurt. You do need to strain the yogurt 'til thick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States