Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by GySgtVsWife
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
We loved this! I did read some suggestions and changed just a bit. First, I did not use a food processor or blender. I just folded everything together. Second, living in Japan I had a difficult time getting my hands on Greek yogurt (as many have suggested) so I went ahead and used the plain yogurt. I ended up adding 2 tablespoons of sour cream to keep it from getting runny. I peeled and seeded the cucumber and shredded it. I drained it as best possible then salted it and put it aside for about an hour. Then drained the remainder of the water. I minced 4 gloves of garlic. I also had a hard time finding fresh dill so I used dried dill (teaspoon). It sat in the refrigerator for about 2 hours before I served it. It was delicious! All of guests enjoyed it and my husband asked if we could put it on our "regular" menu. So it's a plus in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GySgtVsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Yummy. The only thing we did different was finely chop the cuke and skip the processing. Great with falafel and on fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So tasty! But if you (like me) were in a hurry and didn't read the reviews BEFORE you made this sauce, you also ended up with a delicious, but very runny, sauce. Here's your bail: line a large strainer with a paper towel or coffee filter, pour the tzatziki in and let it drain until it's the consistency you want. Maybe not the best way of doing things, but better than tossing it! I would give it 5 stars if the recipe included the information about draining the yogurt and the cucumbers. I will eat it on everything I can dip in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This recipe is very tasty. I was able to thicken this sauce by first straining the yogurt through cheese cloth (2 hrs. at least). I also did the same with the cucumbers after turning them into a paste with a food processor. For 2 cucumbers strained through cheese cloth, about 16 oz. of liquid was removed! Save the liquid for juice drinks or freeze into ice cubes & add to a glass of water for a refreshing summer drink! I've also added feta cheese to the blended Tzatziki as a variation. Also thickens it, adds more flavor and of course more calories & salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I would have gave it 5 stars, but I did not drain the yogurt. Using the advice above, I chose to just use choboni greek yogurt, but although the taste was great, I didn't get the consistency I wanted. The only thing I would change and give it a 5th star would be to drain the Yogurt overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Mine came out water-thin and unusable. I double checked to make sure I had gotten everything right, but I can't find where I could have gone wrong. Will start with Greek yogurt and a different recipe next time, but for tonight I will have to make other dinner plans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
this is excellent -- as of tonight I will no longer be traveling 25 miles for some of this - done as recipe stated .. ty (greek yogurt used)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Brennan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
So good. I use dried dill and it still comes out delicious. You can use it as a dressing too for a simple salad of cucumber, orange bell, lettuce etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I really liked this recipe, the taste of my sauce is pretty accurate. The only problem is that there is no indication of what is assumed as the size of the cucumber. Some cucumbers are 3 times others, I just used common sense (assumed the cucumber here is the small ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
First try at making this sauce and this tasted great! I took other suggestions and minced the cucumbers in my food processor and drained them overnight. I don't have cheesecloth, I used coffee filters and worked just as well. I also used Greek yogurt and drained that overnight since the cucumbers were draining anyway. Threw it all in the food processor the next day and was so surprised at how thick the sauce was. This was a great recipe that I can't wait to make for a potluck or home gathering! Thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States