Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This tasted great, but was a bit runny. It was fine until I added the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I, too, had an issue with this coming out runny. I will definitely strain the yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe and it turned out fantastic! Some of us (like me) get urges to make a recipe that should take hours to prepare, but we don't want to wait! (or we don't have enough time) SO this is what I did. I chopped the cucumber up very fine. (I didn't get rid of the seeds because I like that part, and I don't like to waste) I put it in a paper towel and squeezed out as much water as possible. (I did this step with a new paper towel a few times) then I salted the cucumber and let it sit for about 5 mins. Opened my greek yogurt and drained off the liquid on the top. Mixed in the cucumber and a little minced garlic with just a few splashes of lemon juice. My recipe was fantastic and not runny at all :D thanks for the recipe. I will make this again for sure! ** I skipped the oil because it's just not needed**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I tried the various techniques to make this the right consistency (straining the yogurt, chopping and salting the cucumbers to release the extra moisture). Nothing seemed to help. It was way too cucumbery and nothing like Tzatziki I've eaten elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as is, with Greek yogurt...and did not like it. It sure did not like my fave Greek restauant's. Not wanting to give up, I read Mrs Summer's review (thank you!) and made it again with sour cream and love it! Now it is close to the restaurant version I think. Also, I pureed the dukes first alone (after letting them drain a bit) and poured off the excess water, then added the other ingredients ....and then just folded in the sour cream. The texture is great, wasn't "runny" at all. Thank u to everyone for all the tips, that sure helps a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
loved it! light and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
A little sour. Maybe with a few tweaks, it'll be better. It has a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This is better than any I have had in a restaurant! Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Great recipe!! Wide open for a couple slight modifications for my family's taste. I used 5 smallish cloves of garlic and 2 or 3 tablespoons of fresh dill. Plus 2/3 of a cup of sour cream. I used Balkan style yogurt but will use Greek style next time to cut down on the runniness. Straining the yogurt is effective but takes too much time. Cheers from Orillia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
We love this dip, I've made it a few times and it has never been watery. I use English cucumbers and fage yogurt. Not sure if that makes a difference, but I know you do have to take out the seeds for sure. I always eyeball the measurements and add more to taste, sometimes we can't wait the hour, but the favors do pop if we can. I also just noticed that the recipe calls for putting ingredients in the food processor LOL, I've never done that because we like it chunky. This is close to restaurants we've been to, every restaurant has slight variations, I think you just have to add or take away to get the flavor you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States