Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is one of our stand-bys when we make Greek or Mediterranean food. Gyros aren't the same without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Make sure you drain all of the liquid from the cucumbers after you put them in the chopper/food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is so good and refreshing. Change nothing and make as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerdnog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I use nonfat greek yogurt and run my cucumbers through the processor separately so that I can strain the extra liquid from the cumcumbers . This makes the sauce creamy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Made this recipe as directed the first time and did not like it! Went back at it again with some changes the second time around. Used sour cream instead of yogurt as I prefer the flavor and texture of the sour cream. Doubled the cucumbers called for , salted and strained them overnight in a colander to get rid of the excess water. Used the measurements above for the other ingredients (added extra garlic too). Mixed the sour cream, dill, olive oil, lemon juice , garlic and pepper in a bowl with a spatula and after well mixed , folded in the cucumbers last. Chilled and enjoyed over several days with pita, chicken , crackers and anything else we could find to put it on or dip into it ! Thanks for giving a jumping off point for a great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This was a great tzatziki sauce, although it lacked these two ingredients: greek yogurt, and fresh mint leaves! Just use these two next time and you'll be set to go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I pretty much agree with Paula Wood. I just finished making a batch of tzatziki sauce and put it in the frig for a rest. Luckily I already knew 2 steps this recipe leaves out. I don't know about adding salt to the grated cucumbers, I don't, but after I grate them, I place them on a fine strainer and press out all the liquid I possibly can. Second, you don't have to drain the yogert if you buy Greek yogert. Greek yogert doesn't have all that water in it. Otherwise for THIS recipe you need 2 16oz. containers of regular Dannon type yogert, put it in a sieve and let it drain for a couple of hrs. You will wind up with around half of what you started with. Then follow the recipe. I always add more garlic. This sauce is also great on baked potatoes instead of sour cream. Incidently, this sauce tastes just like what I get in Tarpon Springs. Tapron Springs, Fla. is a VERY Greek (at least half the residents speak Greek) sponge fishing port so if it tastes like theirs it must be pretty authentic. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Flip the dip with a spatula, it will get rid.of the runminess of the ingredients, no need to drain or whatever. do not blender it with a processor and stuff.. ~A chefs daughter. ps~ i make my own from home and i add vinegar to it and lemon shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
For those who followed the recipe like I did and ended-up with cold soup, do not throw it out. Here is rescue 101: 1. Make a slurry with small amount of the runny tzatziki and 3 tbls corn starch. 2. Add slurry to the rest of the tzatziki and slowly bring to a boil over medium heat while constantly whisking. 3.You will see the tzatziki start to thicken - remove from heat at desired consistency and refrigerate. 4. Never use this recipe again. *Note - the Tzatziki will not be restaurant quality, but it is passable and a quick rescue solution for your Tzatziki soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Grated the cucumber and strained all the excess liquid out, I used non-fat Greek yogurt which I also strained. Added dried dill instead of fresh dill because it was all I had. The flavors are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States