Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this for a grape leaf wreath I made a few days ago. We had that for lunch and gyros this evening. The Tzadzki sauce went great with both! I did use greek yogurt and just stirred in the ingredients. I did cut the recipe in half. I shreded and salted One cucumber (I have never had this sauce with cubed cucumber and I think shreded was better), I didn't drain it much since I used Greek yogurt from my local Aldi store. I stirred in almost 1/2 juiced lemon, 1tbsp of EVOO, Pepper to taste and garlic powder to taste (saved some time and was grreat!) I had some fresh dill so I used a tbsp. of that as well! It was wonderful. As good or better than any greek or persian restaurant I have ever been to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I ended up with tzatziki soup, even though I used greek yougurt. I regret not reading the reviews first; NOW I know that it is critical that the cucumber be drained and the yogurt as well, and that it shouldn't be done in a food processor. I will follow a different recipe next time one that has all the steps needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Wow!! This taste the same as my fav Greek restaurant!! My daughter bugs me to buy their tzatziki sauce all the time. Now I can save my money!! Absolutely delicious. Thanks for posting Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
slight tweak to a great recipe. I used two 6 oz fage greek yougurt. recipe called for 2- 8 oz. unspecified plain yogurt. one English cucumber, seeded (NOT peeled)grated on coarse microplane grater. press cucumber between two paper towels to rid of excess water. 3 lg cloves garlic shredded on fine microplane grater. will make a garlic paste, microplane is much better than a garlic press and easier to clean the grater than those pesky presses. rest of recipe as written, folded ingredients together. I used more dill 3 T. I would never use a food processor on this recipe. the unpeeled (thin skinned english cucumbers) added extra cucumber flavor and slight crunch. I would only use the English cucumbers unpeeled. they are shrink wrapped and do not have that weird waxy coating regular cucumbers have. worth the somewhat higher cost, and IMO essential for this recipe. this is the best tzatziki sauce I have made. it is going permanently in my recipe box. quite agree, you must use greek yogurt for this recipe. I did not drain yogurt and the sauce was a perfect stiff consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is one of our stand-bys when we make Greek or Mediterranean food. Gyros aren't the same without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Make sure you drain all of the liquid from the cucumbers after you put them in the chopper/food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is so good and refreshing. Change nothing and make as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerdnog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I use nonfat greek yogurt and run my cucumbers through the processor separately so that I can strain the extra liquid from the cumcumbers . This makes the sauce creamy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Made this recipe as directed the first time and did not like it! Went back at it again with some changes the second time around. Used sour cream instead of yogurt as I prefer the flavor and texture of the sour cream. Doubled the cucumbers called for , salted and strained them overnight in a colander to get rid of the excess water. Used the measurements above for the other ingredients (added extra garlic too). Mixed the sour cream, dill, olive oil, lemon juice , garlic and pepper in a bowl with a spatula and after well mixed , folded in the cucumbers last. Chilled and enjoyed over several days with pita, chicken , crackers and anything else we could find to put it on or dip into it ! Thanks for giving a jumping off point for a great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This was a great tzatziki sauce, although it lacked these two ingredients: greek yogurt, and fresh mint leaves! Just use these two next time and you'll be set to go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States