Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used Greek yogurt and it turned out great for lamb pitas. Use extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good recipe, this is a keeper. Changes: I used 1 cucumber, and 1 tbsp. olive oil, 1 tsp. dried dill, and chopped it all by hand. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
yum, i use greek yogurt and dried dill n soak overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarita2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dillon, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
The recipe here is good in terms of taste, but I had problems with the consistency of the dip... very runny. This was solved easily by straning the dip with cheesecloth and a fine strainer/colinder, but I sure wish I would have known to do this beforehand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I have a pampered chef chopper that I use to mince the cucumber, I then drain the liquid and add the rest of the ingredients except the yogurt. I use GREEK Yogurt instead of regular. Much thicker consistency. I fold all the ingredients into the yogurt and it holds up very nicely! Note: If you prefer a little "saltier" dip, use Garlic Salt and omit table salt! YUM!! Making Chicken GYros with it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very good. As others say, I recommend Greek yogurt and it won't be runny. Also, salt and let the cucumbers drain after you dice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
It turned out a little bitter but it was good dip for veggies and sliced pita bread. Not sure if i would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
great recipe...tastes amazing on falafel pitasand veggie burgers. I also drained the yogurt and cucumbers over night. Good tip: use greek yogurt if you don't want to drain it: it is much thicker than regular yogurt. I didn't use a blender either; use a food processor to chop all ingredients than mix together gently. I also cut some of the tartness by adding a tiny bit of honey (about 1/2 tsp). This is a really yummy dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I tried a non-fat version, using non-fat greek yogurt (which is thick and doesn't need to be drained). I DID salt and drain the cucumbers though, and 3 days later this is still NOT watery! :) I did not use olive oil. I've seen recipes using cilantro in addition to the dill, which I did. The only thing I don't like about the taste, is that I think there is a touch too much lemon juice. Otherwise, this is delicious, creamy, tangy, and GREAT as a dip for veggies or pita chips. :) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Here's what you need to know for a fantastic Ziki sauce. Use ONLY authentic Greek yougart. Strain will be needed. Or, if you don't like the overwhelming taste of Greek yogurt, and I don't personally, use 98% Sour Cream and 2% Greek Yogurt. DO NOT FEAR THE GARLIC FOLKS! GO AS CRAZY AS YOU LIKE WITH IT!. Personally, I use 3 1/2 to 4 large Elephant Garlic bulbs minced finely for that incredible, spicy garlicky kick! DO NOT put yogurt in blender. Stir / fold yogurt only by hand. Place shredded and SEEDED cucumbers in a sprinkling of sea salt in a strainer for 3 hours then place in thick paper towels & wring cucumbers out hard by hand. Add two LARGE spoon fulls of Sour Cream or Greek yogurt. (depending on which way you want the premise of this Ziki recipe to taste) It adds either a WONDERFUL creamy taste or a FULL authentic Greek taste. Use one tsp. dried dill per one tlb. fresh (if nothing fresh on hand) but use 4 tbls fresh dill if AT ALL possible. Be careful of adding too much salt to taste in this mix. With the salt you've already added to help drain the cucumbers and the salty taste of the lemon juice, it might over power your sauce. Cracked pepper to taste. Let sauce chill for at least 2 hours. The taste will increase exponentially with time. Make a double batch as this sauce goes great with many dishes. Especially chicken and fish. This is a 5* recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Michael O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States