Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I, too, wish I had read the reviews, and like a previous poster had mentioned, the taste was amazing - however, it came out very thin and almost runny, not at all like tzatziki should be. It was certainly edible and we enjoyed it immensely, but next time I will try the recommended trick of straining the yogurt and removing most of the water from the cucumbers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic!! I made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it. I used 0% Greek Yogurt to make it super healthy.. I served it with Kibbi a Lebanese dish and it was the perfect compliment. I could definitely see this being a great dip for veggies or a salad dressing, very light and fresh tasting. When my son was leaving for the weekend, he made sure he made off with the rest of it! I will definitely make this again! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by werseabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Photo by jjccphillips
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Loved it. Used Greek non-fat plain yogurt and dried minced garlic because I did not have fresh. It's excellent and so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjccphillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macdill Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Please read reviews first...I wish I did. The ingredients and flavor of this recipe is worth 4-5 stars however; the directions are worth 1-2. I decided to split the difference. First, you have to ring or strain the chopped cucumbers before using them. Also, the yogurt should also be strained for at least an hour. I would caution against putting yogurt in a food processor as it breaks it down; especially when combined with lemon juice. I would think finely chopping the cucumbers and garlic and sticking with a bowl and spoon would be best. I will make this recipe again because I thinking following the above directions will greatly improve the end result. I only had about an hour to make this before dinner so I went against my better judgment. Next time I will allot at least two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I used real greek yogurt, YUM!!! Has become a staple in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Tastes very traditional, was very delicious! Made this to accompany chicken gyro's (also from this site)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I didn't have cucumbers so I am guessing that is a key step, i did use greek yogurt so it was nice and thick. we enjoyed the flavor in our veggie pita pockets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Good, but missing 2 VITAl steps. 1. Using a CHEESE CLOTH, strain the yogurt for about an hour. 2. SHRED the cucumber into a bowl. Add salt and let sit for 30 min. Then SQUEEZE the water out of handfuls of cucumber at a time. Place in another bowl. Mix all ingredients thoroughly. This will make a creamy, flavorful sauce just like it was from Greece. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
As others pointed out this is a good starter recipe, but you have to use "thick" yogurt, store bough "greek" variety or strained in colander for a few hours in the fridge at home. Also the cucumber is shredded and squeezed/drain of the liquid before adding to yogurt or you will have a runny consistency far from the real Taztziki Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Another way to get rid of some of the liquid from the cucumbers is to seed the cukes, shred them, and squeeze them in cheese cloth. Gets rid of a lot of liquid without adding additional salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States