Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Joined Weight Watchers so constantly on the look out for a low point recipe. This totally met my GREEK side! I took the advice of other reviewers and used Greek Non-fat yogurt (so no need to strain) and added the dill weed, pinch of sugar and onion powder and was ABSOLUTELY thrilled with this dip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I grew up as an Air Force dependent on Crete for quite a few years as a chiks and we never ate in any restaurant without huge plates of fried zucchini, fried potatoes or tsaziki sauce to dip them in! Not to mention huge onion and cucumber salads drizzled with (locally grown!) Olive oil and balsamic vinegar( 2 to 1 ratio) ..topped with huge cubes of feta cheese and luscious fresh bread...I, too, was adopted by my own Yia Yia, ( our landlady, a widow always dressed in head to toe black clothing) and she fed me fried potatoes and tsaziki until I thought I'd pop!This is the closest, most delicious recipe I've found, Thanks JessNeo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Tastes GREAT! I did use Greek-style yogurt, because I didn't want to mess with straining and draining. It turned out awesome. The only thing I added was a bit of finely chopped dill,and it turned out excellent. Also, because I used really thick Greek yogurt, I didn't even make a big deal out of straining the cucumber. I did pat it down a bit after I grated it, and used a hothouse(English cucumber), so maybe that made a difference. If you use real Greek yogurt, you can't really go wrong. Just add ingredients to your taste. You'll be glad you did! Tastes fresh and better than most restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Took more time than I was looking for, but I'd have to say it's worth it. I put it a top gyro meat and red onions and pita bread and had my family begging for me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was fantastic. I did use the greek yogurt, did not strain it. chopped up cucumber and patted it and salted it. DELICOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was a very tasty and healthy recipe used it on a leg of lamb and roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Actually it had a rather bitter taste, I used the greek yougart like many suggested, even added honey and just was not what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I personally prefer versions with some sour cream and I'm not sure I loved the mint in this. I normally don't have any, and use recipes that call for oregano instead. Mint is traditional but since I'm not Greek I really don't feel any shame in saying I don't think I care for it in the sauce, just in the meat that I put this sauce on. It did come out reasonably thick, which is nice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
REALLY nice. The overnight straining was easy to do and I was astonished how much water came out. The end result is thick, tasty, and refreshing. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great Recipe! I left out the mint (personal preference) and added dill, used Greek yogurt to speed up the process (didn't have to drain anything), and squeezed my shredded cucumber in between towels to get rid of excess water - hadn't allowed myself enough time to do the draining part. However, the tzaziki was great and everyone at the dinner party loved it! Will definitely continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States