Tzatziki Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was excellent. I made some very small changes. First, I used reduced fat yogurt. In a mini processor, I added half the amount of salt and pepper, 10 lemon drops, 2 large garlic cloves, 2 good shakes of dill weed spice, a dash of olive oil, and a full package of the fresh mint from the produce section. After chopping, I had a little less than 1/4 cup of mixture to mix in w/the yogurt and cucumber. Instead of cheese cloth, I used coffee filters and that worked great. Separating the liquid is an essential step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I have always thought I made a great gyros sauce, but after I made this recipe, I threw mine away. I don't know if it's the mint because no one else had it in the other recipes or the yogurt. This is the best gyros sauce I have ever tasted, including restaurants. I have made it so many times I have the recipe in my head. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Wonderful and very authentic (I have been to Greece, and frequent Greek restaurants where I live). I served this on pita bread with Souvlaki from this site. I would highly recommend using the cheese cloth to drain the yogurt, as well as using a strainer for the cucumber to press out the liquid; otherwise, the sauce will be runny. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This recipe is fantastic and even easier if you use Greek yogurt and a food processor! I put the Greek yogurt in the processor along with the salt, pepper, crushed garlic, and 1/2 cup whole mint leaves (loosely packed). Then, I pulsed it for a bit to coarsely chop the mint and garlic. After that, I threw in the diced up cucumber and pulsed some more. The immediate results were DELICIOUS and I'm sure it will be even better after a night in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This had really great flavor, and the best combination of ingredients of the tzatziki recipes on this site. However, the prep time could be seriously reduced if one used real Greek yogurt (like Oikos) that is already thick and does not require straining. I found this to be most difficult in my technologically challenged kitchen lacking cheesecloth or even the basic coffee filter. Needless to say, mine turned out a bit runny :P Used the food processor to chop and mix everything up. Served with falafel, lettuce, and tomato on a pita. The consistency didn't ruin anything, but will save myself the trouble and just use Greek yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Excellent! I didn't have cheese cloth so strained with a paper coffee filter. Subbed 1/2 tsp dried mint for fresh. Every one loved it with the Pork Souvlaki recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I added half of a fresh squeezed lemon and a pinch of sugar. This is a wonderful recipe. Also I skinned and chopped my english cucumber and left it in a strainer with a little salt sprinkled on it. This way my cucumbers "sweat" out there juices rather than having a runny dip.and you dont need to spend precious time cleaning out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Very good. I made this to go with Moroccan Lamb Kabobs (also from this site.) I too strained the yogurt using a coffee filter. It worked really well, and I was AMAZED at how much water dribbled out!! I couldn't find fresh mint so I used dried, and I could hardly tell the difference. Excellent recipe. Thanks, Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I bought small seedless cucumbers, I sliced them & put in food processor as well as garlic.Combined it with greek yogurt & added a dash of lemon juice & a few dashes of dried dill also used dried mint leaves because I didn't have fresh. Simply marvelous !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I reduced the salt and pepper, and also drained the cucumber separately for 30 minutes. An easy way to drain the yogurt is to line a strainer with a coffee filter, then put the yogurt in that. We served it with lamb in homemade pita bread and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States