Tzatziki Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I have always thought I made a great gyros sauce, but after I made this recipe, I threw mine away. I don't know if it's the mint because no one else had it in the other recipes or the yogurt. This is the best gyros sauce I have ever tasted, including restaurants. I have made it so many times I have the recipe in my head. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Good sauce Brenda. I skipped on straining the yogurt and left out the garlic. I too think the mint made this really good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Very tasty. The only thing I will do next time I make it is I would use less garlic. Yummy was the response from the kids. The whole family liked it. Will definately serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Wonderful and very authentic (I have been to Greece, and frequent Greek restaurants where I live). I served this on pita bread with Souvlaki from this site. I would highly recommend using the cheese cloth to drain the yogurt, as well as using a strainer for the cucumber to press out the liquid; otherwise, the sauce will be runny. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This sauce was excellent on gyros! I just added 3 times as much pepper as called for....it was fabulous. And I can see dipping vegetables in the remaining sauce. Thanks Brenda for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I think the recipe called for WAY too much salt. Next time I will cut it in half, and I will also omit the pepper. I'm a big pepper fan, but somehow the flavor did not go with the Tzatziki I remember from my trip to Greece 2 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Superb. I made this with fresh mint, but I am eager to try out dill the next time. Draining the yogurt on cheesecloth is absolutely essential in achieving the correct texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I wish I could give this a 10!! It was awesome. I forgot to pick up cheesecloth so I had to improvise using a small strainer and bowl for the yougurt. It removed a good deal of the water. I can't stop eating this and it made my kitchen smell so yummy. I made this with Peppy's Pita Bread and Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs. I felt like I was at a greek restuarant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I reduced the salt and pepper, and also drained the cucumber separately for 30 minutes. An easy way to drain the yogurt is to line a strainer with a coffee filter, then put the yogurt in that. We served it with lamb in homemade pita bread and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Excellent!! What can I say we loved it. I like it better than a lot of the sauces you get in restaurants even. I forgot to press moisture out of the cucumbers but it still turned out great and I did not drain the yogurt either. It kept well in the fridge and it disappeared quickly. No wastage here! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States