Tzatziki Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I didn't have any yogurt so I used sour cream instead. It was great.I added chopped green onions just to give it a different taste. This dish was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was so incredibly quick and delicious. To save time, I used an English cucumber and shredded it whole in the food processor (no peeling or deseeding needed). The Greek yogurt that I found was extremely thick, so I didn't even think about straining it. Added fresh lemon juice, and it was ready to go. If you're in a bind,eat right away (very flavorful regardless).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Made this to go with the spicy lamb burgers from this site and it was amazing. There was nothing left as everyone was scooping the remaining sauce with corn chips. Now that Greek yoghurt is so popular, you can use it (I love Stonyfield Oikos) and skip the straining step. I am going to try it next time with goat's milk Greek yoghurt from my farmer's market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We JUST got back from Greece and I was already craving tzatziki! Have to say not the absolute best I've ever had (I've had some pretty amazing tzatziki) but I'd have to say pretty darn good and still worth 5 stars. I didn't have any cheesecloth (not sure what it is...) so I lined a colander with coffee filters and put it over a bowl for a few hours. This is a crucial step if you can't find authentic Greek yogurt! (which I couldn't) The real stuff is much thicker so straining the liquid out is important. Everyone loved it! Great dip for gyros, souvlaki, pita, etc. A great way to make good souvlaki is to get a pita, use the "Greek Chicken" recipe submitted by Karen, a wedge of lemon, a few tomato slices, and a healthy dollop of this tzatziki! Voila, delish greek meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This had really great flavor, and the best combination of ingredients of the tzatziki recipes on this site. However, the prep time could be seriously reduced if one used real Greek yogurt (like Oikos) that is already thick and does not require straining. I found this to be most difficult in my technologically challenged kitchen lacking cheesecloth or even the basic coffee filter. Needless to say, mine turned out a bit runny :P Used the food processor to chop and mix everything up. Served with falafel, lettuce, and tomato on a pita. The consistency didn't ruin anything, but will save myself the trouble and just use Greek yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Extremely tasty and authentic! If you don't have a cheesecloth, just use a paper coffee filter and it works beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Really loved it and it went really well with the chicken gyro recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Made this as a sauce for feta turkey burgers (from this site). Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very good and was even better the next day! I used whole fat Greek yogurt and a little less mint (only because I did not have enough) and it turned out great. I served on gyro meat with pita and it was wonderful! This is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is a great recipe. I lived in the Tampa Bay area and would travel to Tarpon Springs to eat authentic greek food at least 3 times a year. I recommend not only straining the yogurt, but also the cucumber at the same time. Additionally, I add dill instead of the mint for a traditional greek flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States