Tzatziki Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I am giving this 5 stars becuase it is healty AND tastes good. I have had better using sour cream, but yogurt is a great alternative without sacrificing taste. Great as dip, or mix a couple tablespoons into your tuna for instant tuna salad (w/o the fat of mayo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
1 large tub yoghurt/strained 1 english cucumber/strained 4 large cloves garlic 1 tablespoon dill 3/4 lemon juiced 3/4 teaspoon greek seasoning salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLR8R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Added cucumbers as the most helpful reviews suggested. One of the times I made it I also put in some fresh mint leaves I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I thought this was a good base... had to play with it though to get it just right for us. I added about half a cucumber (seeds removed and rung out in a paper towel). Used nonfat Greek yogurt. Also added 2 tablespoons of lowfat sour cream. I reduced the garlic to 2 cloves and olive oil to 1 tablespoon. Perfect for our homemade gyros!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent dip! We grilled pork chops and sliced them placed on top of Naan bread with red onion and tomoato. Made the dip more tasty by adding one cup chopped english cucumber and a sprinkle of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Like other reviews, we used greek yogurt, added chopped cucumber, and omitted the olive oil. Was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Good base for making tzatziki. Along with everyone else, I was confused regarding the lack of cucumbers as an ingredient! I did follow the recipe...although I did not think olive oil was necessary. Also, 3 cloves of garlic would be intensely overpowering. I used 1 good sized one and grated it in. I also used dried dill (about a teaspoon - would definitely taste better with real dill!), a couple of finely chopped mint leaves, and a bit of onion grated in. For the cucumbers, I seeded and peeled 5 normal ones, grated them, then added salt (and a pinch of sugar) to help get the water out. I then took a filter/cheesecloth thing I had and squeezed that pile of cucumbers until they were all but dry. 5 big cucumbers shrank to about a cup! I definitely think adding cucumbers is necessary in order to call it 'tzatziki'...but hey, to each his own! All in all, good base to then adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great recipe: fast, easy, and quick clean-up! It tasted a bit plain, so I added some Mediterranean seasoning. Also, I had no dill so used about a 1/3 c grated cucumber. Delicious! I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
It was ok but I wasn't particularly impressed with this sauce but maybe I should have seeded the cucumbers? Also I had never heard of this before so didn't know what to expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I doubled the dill and added 1/2 of a chopped English (hothouse) cucumber. Quick and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States