Tzatziki Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent dip! We grilled pork chops and sliced them placed on top of Naan bread with red onion and tomoato. Made the dip more tasty by adding one cup chopped english cucumber and a sprinkle of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Like other reviews, we used greek yogurt, added chopped cucumber, and omitted the olive oil. Was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Good base for making tzatziki. Along with everyone else, I was confused regarding the lack of cucumbers as an ingredient! I did follow the recipe...although I did not think olive oil was necessary. Also, 3 cloves of garlic would be intensely overpowering. I used 1 good sized one and grated it in. I also used dried dill (about a teaspoon - would definitely taste better with real dill!), a couple of finely chopped mint leaves, and a bit of onion grated in. For the cucumbers, I seeded and peeled 5 normal ones, grated them, then added salt (and a pinch of sugar) to help get the water out. I then took a filter/cheesecloth thing I had and squeezed that pile of cucumbers until they were all but dry. 5 big cucumbers shrank to about a cup! I definitely think adding cucumbers is necessary in order to call it 'tzatziki'...but hey, to each his own! All in all, good base to then adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great recipe: fast, easy, and quick clean-up! It tasted a bit plain, so I added some Mediterranean seasoning. Also, I had no dill so used about a 1/3 c grated cucumber. Delicious! I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
It was ok but I wasn't particularly impressed with this sauce but maybe I should have seeded the cucumbers? Also I had never heard of this before so didn't know what to expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I doubled the dill and added 1/2 of a chopped English (hothouse) cucumber. Quick and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
After reading some other reviews I added shredded cucumber with the water squeezed out. But I still felt that there was something missing. I love tzatziki and I felt like this one was missing the punch that most of the ones I have eaten had. After looking around at some other recipies I realized it was red wine vinegar! The cucumber and vinegar really did it, but just about a tablespoon of the vinegar. Afterwards it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Really yummy--the flavors are well balanced. I added some finely chopped cucumber, too. It was a bit too runny for my taste, so next time I will use Greek yogurt instead of plain. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemmindrop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Something in it was VERY overpowering! I thought it was the garlic (and I even used only 2 cloves instead of 3...), but my husband thought it was the dill...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was my 1st try making tzatziki, but I've had it plenty of times before. I knew something was missing so I added finely chopped cuke. It still seemed like it was missing something though, but couldn't put my finger on it. And the viscosity was too thin. Either strain the yogurt before adding it or try using Greek yogurt, and don't forget to add cucumber...or maybe just find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States