Tzatziki Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is really good and has the perfect combination of flavorings for a tangy tzatziki. I did make a few changes for personal taste. I used Greek plain yogurt instead because it lends a thicker sauce. I also add about 1/2 of an english cucumber peeled, seeded, and finely diced. I served with the Spinach Feta Turkey burgers from this site, but, it is also a great dip with toasted pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious! I brought this to a party and got so many compliments! I used 4 oz. Greek yogurt and 4 oz. sour cream. I agree with some, the garlic is a bit heavy. Don't get me wrong, I love garlic, but I'll probably use maybe 2 cloves next time. Also, instead of fresh dill I used a paste-type dill in a tube (it was organic). I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Really delicious - I use nonfat greek yogurt which makes it thick and delicious without the fat. I also don't know how anyone can eat this with three cloves of garlic in it. I am a garlic lover, but this is raw garlic we're talking about here. I started with one clove and it was definitely enough garlic. Even with one raw clove in a dip like this, don't plan on a romantic first date right after eating this. I also add another tablespoon of EVOO and double the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Yum! I made this recipe exactly as written and we loved it. My 2 year old daughter and I polished off an entire recipe with some pita chips in a matter of minutes (What can I say? She loves garlic!) While I'm sure cucumber is delicious in it, I didn't have one, and therefore, I chose this recipe over others. I loved this recipe's simplicity and healthiness. It was great! Sure you could make a thicker, creamier Tzatziki with sour cream, but I used low-fat yogurt so we can eat a bucket of it without feeling guilty! This will become a new, regular afternoon snack for us. Per some suggestions, I think I may substitute Greek Seasoning for the salt and pepper next time, just for the fun of it. And I will be serving this at the next gathering with pita chips and veggies. I know it'll be a hit! So much more fun and less fat than ol' Ranch Dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Family loved it. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is my new favorite appetizer! Served with cups of diced cucumber, tomatos, greek olives, feta cheese and sliced pita bread so people could make their own little pita appetizer, it was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent flavor and such an easy dip to make! I doubled the recipe and made a few modifications as suggested by others - used Greek yogurt instead of regular and I added cucumber, because I can't imagine tzatziki without it. For the cucumber, I bought a seedless cucumber (and it was huge) so I only cut up about 1/3 of it. The rest of it I sliced and put out for people to dip with. My only complaint is that I thought there was way too much pepper (though my boyfriend did not think so). Next time I'll cut the pepper in half for my own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Yum, served atop the Middle Eastern Turkey Dog recipe and the dinner was a hit. I will make the Tzatziki Sauce I again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used sour cream and grated drained cucumber, wow really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was very tasty,but i expected the sauce to be a lot thicker and I also added cucumbers. It was great other than it being runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States