Tzatziki Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
A very good recipe as is. Not as thick as I am used to though. To make it a 5-star recipe, I added finely chopped cucumbers, and I left out the olive oil and used greek yogurt because it is thicker. If you can't find greek yogurt (or a real yogurt strainer), you can put two coffee filters into a colander. Put the colander over a bowl and strain the yogurt for about an hour or so on the countertop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
To make this a true tzatziki sauce, I did add one very large deseeded cucumber. I also used greek yogurt. VERY good. I seriously ate myself sick on this with a bag of sea salt pita chips. NOTE: If you can stand it, the longer this sauce sits.......the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
so ... i'd give it a "5" based on the way i made it, but no cucumbers in the recipe?!?! it definitely needs them. i added about 1 cup of finely chopped cucumbers to the recipe and it was perfect and delicious! went great with the gyros burgers also on this site. also, we used Dannon's plain fat-free yogurt and had NO problems with it being too "runny" like others complained about. it was thick, rich and great. but remember to add those cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I can't really rate it in its virgin state because I didn't make it that way. However, with the changes I made it was a 5. Changes: 1/4 tsp pepper instead of 1/2 tsp, 1/2 tblsp dry dill instead of 1 tblsp fresh dill, 1 clove of garlic instead of 3 cloves, and I added 1/3 c. shredded & water pressed out cucumbers. Made this way it will be a permanent fixture in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I really liked this recipe, but to add to the flavor and texture, I doubled the fresh dill and added finely chopped cucumbers. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Tried Tzatziki sauce with chicken in a restraunt, this is the same. Delicous***.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Good start. I added finely diced seedless cucumbers (it needed it), chopped green onions, and 1 tsp of red wine vinegar. Also, use a good, thick greek yogurt. It does have a strong garlicky flavor, so if you are not a garlic lover, either half the garlic or lightly sauté it first to take out the raw garlic "bite". This was excellent on Pita Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Perfect Tzatziki sauce, Serena! We loved it. Served it with Sharon's Souvlaki, Tabbouleh and pita bread all of which are from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
We made chicken gyros and used this as the sauce. The kids used leftover sauce for dipping vegetables for snacks for the week and liked it better than ranch. I will use this next time I make a veggie tray instead of ranch or dill sauce. This Tzatziki Sauce is better than anything I've had in a restaurant. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This recipe is a great base but requires additional steps and ingredients to make it perfect. I bought 16 oz of yogurt, lined a sieve with paper towel and placed the yogurt in it. After a few hours all of the liquid drained out of the yogurt leaving it nice and thick. I added 1 cup of grated Long English Cucumber. Be sure to squeeze all of the liquid out of the cucmber after grating it. I also added 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezra Gisborne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States