Tzatziki II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
The tip one of the reviewers stated on being watery had me grate and lightly salt the cucumbers before using. After 30 minutes wrap in a paper or regular towel and squeeze out the excess water. This worked really well - just remember not to add the salt as stated in the recipe after pre salting the cukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Where I live there is this delicious Greek restaurant that is famous for this dip. They serve it with hot pita bread and feta cheese and it is excellent. This stuff tasted just like it, took me ten minutes to throw together, and kids don't even realize that their eating cucumber, onion and garlic. I used parsley instead of mint. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is exactly like a recipe i've been using for years. There's no need to add oil like i read in other recipes. I changed it a little bit, i add 1/2 teaspoon dried dill and 1/2 teaspoon mustard. I also prefer to crush the garlic instead of using it chopped (don't like to find bits of garlic), and better wait till the cucumber is completely dry if you don't want your sauce to be runny. What i do is to grate the cucumber the day before and allow to drain in paper towels overnight. This is good for döner kebabs, sis kebabs, mashed potatoes, salads, as a veggie dip,.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I took a tip from another reviewer which actually works anytime you don't want watery cucmbers. After you chop or grate the cucumber add salt to them and then let them rest on papertowels to get the water out. You can even give them a good squeeze if you don't do that the yogurt or sourcream will be runny. I used 1 tsp. of dill weed instead of mint and served this with Souvlaki. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Great recipe! I prefer mine more plain and I just use Greek Plain Yogurt from Trader Joes and cucumber and a dash of dill. I also eat this with Naan Indian Bread which tastes like pita bread. I can't get enough of this lately........I also shred my cucumber ahead of time to reduce the water. Using thr greek yogurt helps because it is more thick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
seeded the cuke and threw it into the food processor. Placed salted cuke in a collander and weighted it down for about 1 hour to leech the juice out. This came together nicely. Added just a touch more salt and a squirt of lemon juice. Only had dried mint and used 1/2 tsp. Let it sit for a while for the flavors to come together. It was not 'soupy'. Served this with 'gyro burgers' for a nice complete meal. I like this recipe because it makes enough without a ton of leftover to get pushed to the back of the fridge. thanks for the nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
It turned out quite good! (The only suggestion I might make would be to add a little bit of all-purpose flour to the finished product. I found it to be very watery once the cucumber was added - the flour helped to thicken it up a little.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This recipe is really nice. I reduce the garlic to 1 clove, and use fresh dill in place of the mint. I grate 1/2 of the cucumber on the smallest part of a grating box, and the other 1/2 on the largest, then squeeze out as much liquid as possible in paper towel. It's very close to my fav. restaraunt's recipe! Woohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker-@-Heart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was amazing Tzatziki! I used Yogurt-Cheese to make it even creamier and thick. We used it as a side dip for roast lamb. It was fantastic and even better the next day when the flavours melded together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This came out really nicely--beware, after standing overnight, the garlic flavor becomes pretty intense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States