Tzatziki I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Love this stuff! I used 2 cups of nonfat Greek yogurt - that will address half of the 'too runny' issue as greek yogurt is 'pre-drained'. For the cucumbers, I shredded them in the food processor, dumped the shreds into a colander, squeezed out the moisture, and then rolled the shreds in paper towel. That will address the other half of the moisture issue. I added more garlic (personal preference), used less olive oil and omitted the white vinegar. I whirled it in the food processor, then added the cucumber shreds, about 1 tsp of salt, and pulsed briefly to mix. Chilled and served with pork souvlaki recipe from this site. ALL gone! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I used the exact ingredients, with the exception of using greek yogurt instead of yogurt, but ignored the directions. I quartered the cukes, deseeded them, then sliced them thinly with a mandolin. Then put them in a colander with salt for a while, but I don't think it did much. When I was ready to put it all together, I put the cucumber slices in a kitchen towel and squeezed hard - that worked. I mixed all the other ingredients first, then stirred the cucumber slices in. Put it in the fridge for a few hours, and upon taste testing it got the "put this in regular rotation" seal of approval from the husband. It was absolutely not runny using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Love it! Upped the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYTPOTTS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I followed Jennifer's suggestion for draining, with great success. I just stuffed the cukes in my food processor, too. She is right; it needs more garlic. I used the 6 cloves, only 1/8 cup oil, and added a dash of dill with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Way too liquid-y. The flavors were delicious, but my finished product had no thickness to it. As a result, not a very good dip for putting on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
My husband and I both love this recipe! The only change we make is to use Greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt. It's a little thicker and has a tangy flavor that you can't get with regular yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is the tzatziki recipe I always use. However, I use 1 teaspoon salt (1 tble must be a misprint), 2 tble vinegar, & 2 large garlic cloves. You've got to change it to your liking just like with every recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Addie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fantastic. I subbed sour cream for yogurt (out of yogurt), and shredded the cukes on a box grater. I think the secret is the fresh garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The flavor of this was very good, but the texture could be better; it was very thin after I processed it. My boyfriend, who used to work in a greek restaurant suggested that using a food processor might be making it thin. Next time I'll try hand whisking the oil and vinegar/lemon juice together before whisking in the yogurt and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
very yummy....i only added a little more garlic and it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States