Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was great but I made subtle changes which wouldn't really affect anything. I didn't have almond extract so I used Amaretto. Used a 8 oz block of cream cheese because if 3oz is good 5 more ozs would be killer. I used frozen fresh strawberries from earlier this season. They are fine, just don't have the crunch that fresh would. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was soeasy to make my 8 yr old neice did most of it by herself. We used a graham cracker crust and strawberry cream cheese. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This turned out very nicely. I used a graham cracker crust, but otherwise made it according to the recipe. My pie pan was a little shallow, I think a deeper one would better suit this pie next time, but it still looked and tasted great. It was eaten in one sitting (with company). It was a little more work than an ordinary strawberry pie but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This is a fun, easy pie to make. My 2-year-old daughter sat on the counter and helped me pour and mix the ingredients. I was a little put off at first by the color and consistency of the glaze as it sat cooling in the pan. I started the pie the day before by making the separate parts and refrigerating them overnight and actually considered scrapping it because it didn't look right to me. But once I mixed the glaze with the strawberries and pulled the whole pie together, it looked very pretty - and tasted delicious! I used non-fat cream cheese because that's what I had on hand and it turned out fine. I also used a store-bought frozen pie crust, but next time I think I'll make my own crust so I have more control over the consistency. This was the perfect finish for our Easter dinner this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FEISTY9
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
WOW! This pie was fanastic. I made it for guests (without any changes to original recipe) and they absolutely loved it. Just make sure you plan on finishing within the same day. We had a couple slices left over that weren't as pretty the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Nice change to the typical strawberry pie with all the goo. I really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This pie was easy to make and had a delicious flavor. My only complaint is that is the cream filling was too runny. Perhaps I didn't whip the cream enough. Next time I will use Cool Whip, as suggested by other reviewers, and use a graham cracker crust. But I agree it is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurt, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Awesome! I didn't have any grenadine and didn't want to make a special trip to get some, so I just used a few tablespoons of strawberry jello powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Made this in two days (refrigerated separately overnight...i was tired and I started it late). Got absolutely rave reviews last night at a family dinner party. Very pretty! Extremely simple. Used strawberry flavored cream cheese as suggested by another happy customer. Am making again this evening as requested by my significant other. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
BEST STRAWBERRY PIE I EVER HAD, BUT DON'T PUT THE WHIPPED CREAM ON TILL YOU ARE READY TO SERVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States