Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
OH SO GOOD! I don't usually modify recipes but made this as an afterthought, so I used 4oz cream cheese, an extra drop or two of both extracts, and two ladles of cool whip instead of cream (we're moving, measuring cups are packed ;))I also used a cinnamon graham cracker crust. The filling held up just fine overnight. I didn't have grenadine and follwed another reviewers suggestion of water and food coloring. Beautiful and delicious, this will definitely become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Wow. This is a great tasting easy pie, and I can't wait to adapt it to other berries later in the season! Like other reviewers, I used an 8 oz. package of cream cheese instead of 3 oz. and a graham cracker crust. Next time, I will have to try chocolate crust for a bit of rich variety. It seems that cookie based crusts don't get nearly as soggy as a traditional dough crust would. (I learned this by accident, as I arranged the berries on the pie, assuming we were going to eat it rather quickly, but we ended up having to leave the house, so the pie wasn't actually served or cut into until the next day. The glazed berry topping firmed up beautifully and the pie wasn't soggy at all. (I had it on the coldest shelf on my fridge, so the cream layer stayed firm as well) Other additions/thoughts: When whipping heavy cream, ensure your bowl and beaters are cold. (I pop mine in the freezer for a few minutes before whipping) For those who prefer their cream a little sweeter, add a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 cup of sugar to the whip cream while it's whipping up. The cream filling will stay together if you whip the heavy cream just until stiff peaks form and the cream holds its shape when the beaters move through it. Instead of using Cool Whip or flavored cream cheese, I added a splash of grenadine to the cream cheese mixture, as well as the whip cream. Later on, I made just the glaze recipe, warmed it up with the remaining berries to top a pound cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MllePandora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was a yummy combination but I had to improvise. I used a premade sponge cake shell because I had it handy. I also didn't have any heavy cream so I folded in approx. 2 cups of Ready Whip and used lowfat cream cheese! I would definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This pie is fantastic. My husband declared it the best pie he's ever eaten. Like others I used a gram cracker crust and slightly more cream cheese. I happened to have grenadine which added a nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This was an very easy recipe - but I do recommend eating it fairly soon after making it. The crust gets soggy over night and the filling won't keep its shape. Its still very good - just not as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Good flavour. Glad I read the reviews. I used a graham crust, and reduced the whipping cream by about a third. I also added 1/4C cocoa to the cream cheese mixture, along with a pinch of salt. I combined strawberries and raspberries for the topping. The cornstarch mixture really thickens a lot on chilling. I suggest beating it up with a whisk or spoon before trying to use it. If I'd added fruit and tried to mix it right away the fruit would have turned to mush from the effort of trying to get the cooled gelled mixture to soften to a usable state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I added my strawberries as soon as the grenadine mixture was cooled, instead of just before serving as instructed. It made the mixture runny. I'll pay better attention to the steps next time. Bright red and pretty to serve. I too used graham wafer crust. Im so envious of US bakers with strawberry flavoured Cool Whip! We dont have that here in Canada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Delishhh!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made this pie without changing a thing and my family loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was great but I made subtle changes which wouldn't really affect anything. I didn't have almond extract so I used Amaretto. Used a 8 oz block of cream cheese because if 3oz is good 5 more ozs would be killer. I used frozen fresh strawberries from earlier this season. They are fine, just don't have the crunch that fresh would. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States