Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JoyBugaloo
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made a version of this pie for a garden party today, and I brought home a clean plate! Here were my tweaks: like many others, I used 8 ounces of cream cheese and a full teaspoon of vanilla (omitting the almond extract). I also swapped out 2/3 cup pomegranate juice for the water and grenadine, and for a fresh twist, I infused the glaze with a bundle of thyme as it was cooking. Finally, I used TWICE as many strawberries--four cups--and there was still plenty of glaze to cover them! I will post a pic. --Gina (http:lindseysluscious.blogspot.com)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBugaloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Talent, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I made a shortbread crust for this pie, then brushed it with white chocolate which I then cooled. For the filling I used 8 oz cream cheese and 1/4 cup regular sugar. For the sauce/topping, instead of grenadine, i used a red juice i had (happened to be raspberry), added 1 cup fresh strawberry puree, and 1 additional tablespoon cornstarch. This made it even more amazing. Next time I might even add a tsp of plain gelatin to get the sauce/topping to be a little more stable. EXCELLENT pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fyne
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is pure perfection. I love this dessert as is, it is very refreshing light and ever so tasty. I have made it with grenadine and it is just fine but I prefer it with strawberry liqueur (Fragoli).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Julie, thank you for a wonderful recipe. It is my family's favorite strawberry pie. I too did not have grenadine - so added a couple tablespoons of dry strawberry jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I made two of these pies for a graduation party. They were a hit. All I brought home were the two empty pie pans. I had no grenadine on hand and ultimately used 1/3 cup of merlot in its place. Additional water made up the balance. The end result was very good. I highly recommend this recipe and will certainly use it again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Very good! Everyone in my family loved it! Just a tip: I washed my strawberries right before stirring in and didn't allow them to dry completely; the extra water made the sauce too runny... so make sure your berries are really dry before adding in :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was HEAVENLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This pie is fantastic... I didn't make a single change, except that I doubled the recipe for a larger crust. I also made my own grenadine syrup (which is very easy to make... Equal amounts of 100% pomegranate juice and sugar, bring the juice to a boil and add sugar, stir until sugar is completely dissolved and then chill). In addition, I also put blueberries on the pie with the strawberries and as suggested by someone else, I lined the crust with melted semi-sweet chocolate. This pie was fantastic, I will definitely make it again and give the recipe to some friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I began making this pie last summer for a few picnics I went to and now people ask me to make this all the time. I love it. A friend who doesn't even like cream cheese devours this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Kim Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This pie was pretty tasty. I did a couple of things different. I used a grahm cracker crust, and I used the whole 8 oz of cream cheese. The cream chhese filling came out really delicous! The only complaint I had with this recipe was the topping. I thought it was way too sweet, and when I added my strawberries to my cooled topping, it became too runny. If I make this again, I'll probably use strawberry jelatin mixed with my strawberries and call it a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States