Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Fabulous!!! With only one change...used a whole package of cream cheese & 1 cup of confectioners sugar replacer(Ideal brand) And whipped the snot out of my heavy cream before folding in everything else. But will say. I'm going to omit the almond extract next time, it was fine, but rather it didn't over power the other flavors that were trying to come threw. I could see adding strawberry extract in it's place. But My favor part about the whole recipe was making the glaze....it was outstanding. And quick. Very flavorful...no more will I buy what I thought was a decent strawberry glaze from the produced department..now is on my ugh nasty list. It was always ok..BUT this glaze...by far hands down...AWESOME! It totally made the whole pie for us. The pie feed my hubby & 5 kids. Just hmmm! Thank God for premade pie crust. TY Julie, It's going to be a staple for summer desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My husband described this as "the best pie he has had in his life" - my daughter called it cheesecake heaven - so you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I thought the strawberries part was sinfully good, but I take exception to the filling. 3oz cream cheese won't keep whipped cream from melting in the fridge over time (not enough to stabilize it, use 8 oz and up the sugar to taste); and use your beaters to WHIP the cream cheese into the whipped cream. It won't take more than about 15 seconds to accomplish, and if just fold it in as the recipe states, you can stir til you turn blue in the face & still have cheese chunk areas. Tasty areas, but the unflavored whipped cream is not so good if the cheese is left in chunks, bleh. I WILL make this again, but I'll omit the whipping cream entirely and just put a layer of sugared cream cheese (with this recipe's extracts, because I really liked the addition of almond). Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by JoyBugaloo
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made a version of this pie for a garden party today, and I brought home a clean plate! Here were my tweaks: like many others, I used 8 ounces of cream cheese and a full teaspoon of vanilla (omitting the almond extract). I also swapped out 2/3 cup pomegranate juice for the water and grenadine, and for a fresh twist, I infused the glaze with a bundle of thyme as it was cooking. Finally, I used TWICE as many strawberries--four cups--and there was still plenty of glaze to cover them! I will post a pic. --Gina (http:lindseysluscious.blogspot.com)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBugaloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Talent, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I made a shortbread crust for this pie, then brushed it with white chocolate which I then cooled. For the filling I used 8 oz cream cheese and 1/4 cup regular sugar. For the sauce/topping, instead of grenadine, i used a red juice i had (happened to be raspberry), added 1 cup fresh strawberry puree, and 1 additional tablespoon cornstarch. This made it even more amazing. Next time I might even add a tsp of plain gelatin to get the sauce/topping to be a little more stable. EXCELLENT pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fyne
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is pure perfection. I love this dessert as is, it is very refreshing light and ever so tasty. I have made it with grenadine and it is just fine but I prefer it with strawberry liqueur (Fragoli).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Julie, thank you for a wonderful recipe. It is my family's favorite strawberry pie. I too did not have grenadine - so added a couple tablespoons of dry strawberry jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I made two of these pies for a graduation party. They were a hit. All I brought home were the two empty pie pans. I had no grenadine on hand and ultimately used 1/3 cup of merlot in its place. Additional water made up the balance. The end result was very good. I highly recommend this recipe and will certainly use it again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Very good! Everyone in my family loved it! Just a tip: I washed my strawberries right before stirring in and didn't allow them to dry completely; the extra water made the sauce too runny... so make sure your berries are really dry before adding in :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was HEAVENLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States