Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Fabulous pie! My 21-year old son said it is the best strawberry he ever tasted. I used strawberry cream cheese instead of plain and the outcome was almost like a strawberry mousse. I didn't have any grenadine so I used more water and added red food coloring. My berries were huge so I cut them into quarters or eighths before mixing them into the thickening. I also used a graham cracker crust this time but will probably try it with a regular pie crust the next time. Either way, it was a hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Awesome! I didn't have any grenadine and didn't want to make a special trip to get some, so I just used a few tablespoons of strawberry jello powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This was excellent. I put the cream cheese mixture on top, but followed the recipe and it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
What a wonderful recipe! I made this for our Easter dinner yesterday and everyone raved about it. The only changes I would recommend would be to use whipping cream instead of the heavy cream for the filling, as I have a VERY sweet tooth. But it is tasty as the recipe is also. I used extra water and red food coloring as well as I didn't feel 1/3 cup of grenadine was worth the purchase. I added a few Tbsp of sugar extra too, since my strawberries were on the sour side. (I wish I had had an excuse to make this in Feb when all of the sweet, Florida strawberries were making their way north versus the hard, unripe, sour California ones I find in my Hershey, Pennsylvania grocery store now!!!) Hope you enjoy this as much as my guests did! Thank you for sharing your recipe with everyone!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Everyone loved this pie! I did have to make a couple changes. I did not have the grenadine so I substituted red wine (sangria - but any would work I've found) and added more sugar (I used half a cup instead of 1/3) and I also put the strawberries in the sauce right before I took it off the heat so that some of the juices were cooked into the sauce. I make this every summer and the requests for the recipe never end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora Bettencourt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Fouke, Arkansas, USA
Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
Delicious! Used strawberry cool whip instead of the cream and everything went together very quickly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
BEST STRAWBERRY PIE I EVER HAD, BUT DON'T PUT THE WHIPPED CREAM ON TILL YOU ARE READY TO SERVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Made this in two days (refrigerated separately overnight...i was tired and I started it late). Got absolutely rave reviews last night at a family dinner party. Very pretty! Extremely simple. Used strawberry flavored cream cheese as suggested by another happy customer. Am making again this evening as requested by my significant other. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This turned out very nicely. I used a graham cracker crust, but otherwise made it according to the recipe. My pie pan was a little shallow, I think a deeper one would better suit this pie next time, but it still looked and tasted great. It was eaten in one sitting (with company). It was a little more work than an ordinary strawberry pie but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was soeasy to make my 8 yr old neice did most of it by herself. We used a graham cracker crust and strawberry cream cheese. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States