Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Awesome! I didn't have any grenadine and didn't want to make a special trip to get some, so I just used a few tablespoons of strawberry jello powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Wow. This is a great tasting easy pie, and I can't wait to adapt it to other berries later in the season! Like other reviewers, I used an 8 oz. package of cream cheese instead of 3 oz. and a graham cracker crust. Next time, I will have to try chocolate crust for a bit of rich variety. It seems that cookie based crusts don't get nearly as soggy as a traditional dough crust would. (I learned this by accident, as I arranged the berries on the pie, assuming we were going to eat it rather quickly, but we ended up having to leave the house, so the pie wasn't actually served or cut into until the next day. The glazed berry topping firmed up beautifully and the pie wasn't soggy at all. (I had it on the coldest shelf on my fridge, so the cream layer stayed firm as well) Other additions/thoughts: When whipping heavy cream, ensure your bowl and beaters are cold. (I pop mine in the freezer for a few minutes before whipping) For those who prefer their cream a little sweeter, add a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 cup of sugar to the whip cream while it's whipping up. The cream filling will stay together if you whip the heavy cream just until stiff peaks form and the cream holds its shape when the beaters move through it. Instead of using Cool Whip or flavored cream cheese, I added a splash of grenadine to the cream cheese mixture, as well as the whip cream. Later on, I made just the glaze recipe, warmed it up with the remaining berries to top a pound cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MllePandora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Everyone loved this pie! I did have to make a couple changes. I did not have the grenadine so I substituted red wine (sangria - but any would work I've found) and added more sugar (I used half a cup instead of 1/3) and I also put the strawberries in the sauce right before I took it off the heat so that some of the juices were cooked into the sauce. I make this every summer and the requests for the recipe never end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Fouke, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
WOW!!! This pie was awesome. I took it to work and shared with co-workers. It was gone in no time. I had never heard of grenadine syrup before. It really added a great taste to the strawberry topping. I failed to make sure I had all the ingredients before I started. I didn't have any heavy cream. I substituted it with about 3/4 of a small container cool whip. It turned out great. The other thing I did - I melted some semi-sweet chocolate and brushed it on the pie crust then refrigerated until chocolate was set. After that I put the cream cheese filling in the pie shell. (I read about someone doing that in another recipe so I thought it would be a great touch to this pie and it definitely did.) It kind of gave you the feeling you were eating chocolate dipped strawberries. I will share this with many and probably be making it soon again. I wish I could put more than 5 stars because to me it should have 10 stars. Thank you Julie for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Good flavour. Glad I read the reviews. I used a graham crust, and reduced the whipping cream by about a third. I also added 1/4C cocoa to the cream cheese mixture, along with a pinch of salt. I combined strawberries and raspberries for the topping. The cornstarch mixture really thickens a lot on chilling. I suggest beating it up with a whisk or spoon before trying to use it. If I'd added fruit and tried to mix it right away the fruit would have turned to mush from the effort of trying to get the cooled gelled mixture to soften to a usable state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This pie is fantastic... I didn't make a single change, except that I doubled the recipe for a larger crust. I also made my own grenadine syrup (which is very easy to make... Equal amounts of 100% pomegranate juice and sugar, bring the juice to a boil and add sugar, stir until sugar is completely dissolved and then chill). In addition, I also put blueberries on the pie with the strawberries and as suggested by someone else, I lined the crust with melted semi-sweet chocolate. This pie was fantastic, I will definitely make it again and give the recipe to some friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Fabulous!!! With only one change...used a whole package of cream cheese & 1 cup of confectioners sugar replacer(Ideal brand) And whipped the snot out of my heavy cream before folding in everything else. But will say. I'm going to omit the almond extract next time, it was fine, but rather it didn't over power the other flavors that were trying to come threw. I could see adding strawberry extract in it's place. But My favor part about the whole recipe was making the glaze....it was outstanding. And quick. Very flavorful...no more will I buy what I thought was a decent strawberry glaze from the produced department..now is on my ugh nasty list. It was always ok..BUT this glaze...by far hands down...AWESOME! It totally made the whole pie for us. The pie feed my hubby & 5 kids. Just hmmm! Thank God for premade pie crust. TY Julie, It's going to be a staple for summer desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was great but I made subtle changes which wouldn't really affect anything. I didn't have almond extract so I used Amaretto. Used a 8 oz block of cream cheese because if 3oz is good 5 more ozs would be killer. I used frozen fresh strawberries from earlier this season. They are fine, just don't have the crunch that fresh would. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
What a wonderful recipe! I made this for our Easter dinner yesterday and everyone raved about it. The only changes I would recommend would be to use whipping cream instead of the heavy cream for the filling, as I have a VERY sweet tooth. But it is tasty as the recipe is also. I used extra water and red food coloring as well as I didn't feel 1/3 cup of grenadine was worth the purchase. I added a few Tbsp of sugar extra too, since my strawberries were on the sour side. (I wish I had had an excuse to make this in Feb when all of the sweet, Florida strawberries were making their way north versus the hard, unripe, sour California ones I find in my Hershey, Pennsylvania grocery store now!!!) Hope you enjoy this as much as my guests did! Thank you for sharing your recipe with everyone!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This was excellent. I put the cream cheese mixture on top, but followed the recipe and it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States