Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This is a fun, easy pie to make. My 2-year-old daughter sat on the counter and helped me pour and mix the ingredients. I was a little put off at first by the color and consistency of the glaze as it sat cooling in the pan. I started the pie the day before by making the separate parts and refrigerating them overnight and actually considered scrapping it because it didn't look right to me. But once I mixed the glaze with the strawberries and pulled the whole pie together, it looked very pretty - and tasted delicious! I used non-fat cream cheese because that's what I had on hand and it turned out fine. I also used a store-bought frozen pie crust, but next time I think I'll make my own crust so I have more control over the consistency. This was the perfect finish for our Easter dinner this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FEISTY9
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
WOW! This pie was fanastic. I made it for guests (without any changes to original recipe) and they absolutely loved it. Just make sure you plan on finishing within the same day. We had a couple slices left over that weren't as pretty the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Nice change to the typical strawberry pie with all the goo. I really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This pie was easy to make and had a delicious flavor. My only complaint is that is the cream filling was too runny. Perhaps I didn't whip the cream enough. Next time I will use Cool Whip, as suggested by other reviewers, and use a graham cracker crust. But I agree it is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurt, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Awesome! I didn't have any grenadine and didn't want to make a special trip to get some, so I just used a few tablespoons of strawberry jello powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Made this in two days (refrigerated separately overnight...i was tired and I started it late). Got absolutely rave reviews last night at a family dinner party. Very pretty! Extremely simple. Used strawberry flavored cream cheese as suggested by another happy customer. Am making again this evening as requested by my significant other. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
BEST STRAWBERRY PIE I EVER HAD, BUT DON'T PUT THE WHIPPED CREAM ON TILL YOU ARE READY TO SERVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
Delicious! Used strawberry cool whip instead of the cream and everything went together very quickly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I was having some problems with my computer, so my last review of this recipe was just a test to see if it would go thru. Now I can actually review the pie. I'm glad I read all of the reviews because had I not, I don't think I would have been happy with the result. I too used strawberry cream cheese and then took it a step further and instead of whipped cream, I decided to sub strawberry Cool Whip. The filling was sensational, however, I'll without a doubt use a graham cracker or Oreo crust next time. The pie crust got soggy and the flavor certainly did not engage. Julie, I still thank you for a GREAT start!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Everyone loved this pie! I did have to make a couple changes. I did not have the grenadine so I substituted red wine (sangria - but any would work I've found) and added more sugar (I used half a cup instead of 1/3) and I also put the strawberries in the sauce right before I took it off the heat so that some of the juices were cooked into the sauce. I make this every summer and the requests for the recipe never end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Fouke, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States